Jump to content



Photo

Windows 7 - buggy Taskbar behaviour

win7

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Turbonium

Turbonium

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-August 03

Posted 15 November 2012 - 03:22

I have Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium on my Acer netbook, with the latest vendor-supplied chipset/video drivers and such, as well as the latest Windows patches.

The Taskbar doesn't work properly; the last hovered-on application will stay "lit up", even if I'm in another app or everything is minimized.

I haven't been able to narrow the behaviour down to any specific causes, in terms of programs or anything. It really does seem to happen at random, with Windows Aero effects enabled or disabled (it makes no difference). Sometimes it does it for hours on end, then randomly, it will stop for a while, then start doing it again.

Has anyone else ran into this behaviour? I posted about it on another computer forum and got at least one person saying they have the same odd behaviour exhibited by their Windows 7 install.

Here is a screenshot of the behaviour:

Posted Image

Note that this happens with ANYTHING on the Taskbar, not just Firefox. It really is quite odd, and annoying...


#2 Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 15 November 2012 - 03:36

Seems like you've discovered the elusive taskbar bug that has survived since Vista first rolled around. Some people have it, and some don't. Report it to Microsoft. They don't care. Matter of fact, it's even in 8, just search the forum for "Windows taskbar bug", and I'm sure you'll find PLENTY of subjects/topics about it. I have it too sometimes, and have just thought of it as a really annoying "feature", since Microsoft refuses to acknowledge it or fix it.

#3 OP Turbonium

Turbonium

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-August 03

Posted 15 November 2012 - 03:40

Seems like you've discovered the elusive taskbar bug that has survived since Vista first rolled around. Some people have it, and some don't. Report it to Microsoft. They don't care. Matter of fact, it's even in 8, just search the forum for "Windows taskbar bug", and I'm sure you'll find PLENTY of subjects/topics about it. I have it too sometimes, and have just thought of it as a really annoying "feature", since Microsoft refuses to acknowledge it or fix it.


Could we not like, take a full system report of everyone with this reported behaviour, and see what things (drivers, software) they share in common? Seems like a good place to start.

#4 Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 15 November 2012 - 03:55

Could we not like, take a full system report of everyone with this reported behaviour, and see what things (drivers, software) they share in common? Seems like a good place to start.


Go right ahead, but I'm telling you, it's just a bug, but since you think I'm joking/ "Taking a full system report" or whatever, here you go. Have fun. I tried to tell you: http://www.neowin.ne...#entry593521370 Search, my friend. It'll help you tremendously on these here forums. Good luck, hope you solve it, because nobody has so far! ;) (Y)

#5 ensiform

ensiform

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-July 06

Posted 15 November 2012 - 04:12

The only way to solve it is to shift + right click to make it show the "old" taskbar item context menu.

#6 Rigby

Rigby

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-August 05

Posted 15 November 2012 - 04:21

Yeah I get that too, it's been in there since Vista and they refuse to fix it. Really annoying because it makes you think an app wants your attention.

#7 OP Turbonium

Turbonium

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-August 03

Posted 15 November 2012 - 17:00

Yeah I get that too, it's been in there since Vista and they refuse to fix it. Really annoying because it makes you think an app wants your attention.


Exactly. That, and it looks messy and covers a bit of what's on the screen with the description.

#8 +Xinok

Xinok

    Resident Reresident

  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Shikaka
  • OS: Windows 7 x64
  • Phone: Galaxy S3

Posted 15 November 2012 - 20:06

As stupid as it may sound, Microsoft refrains from fixing little bugs like these. For every bug they fix, they risk breaking something else. So unless there's a larger issue at hand, such as a crash or exploit, small bugs like these are considered not worth fixing and may never be fixed.

#9 NeoandGeo

NeoandGeo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-February 09

Posted 15 November 2012 - 20:12

Either Shift+RightClick or Ctrl+RightClick on the taskbar will fix it.

#10 Excelsis

Excelsis

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 04
  • Location: QC, Canada

Posted 15 November 2012 - 20:27

Right click on something like the explorer icon in the taskbar to bring up the jump list and without closing it. right click on the Start Orb and be amazed. 100% reproduceable.
Completely armless bug, but I think it's funny and amuse myself in thinking that Microsoft removed the Start Orb from W8 because of this bug.

#11 OP Turbonium

Turbonium

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-August 03

Posted 23 November 2012 - 05:43

As stupid as it may sound, Microsoft refrains from fixing little bugs like these. For every bug they fix, they risk breaking something else. So unless there's a larger issue at hand, such as a crash or exploit, small bugs like these are considered not worth fixing and may never be fixed.


This saddens me.

#12 LUTZIFER

LUTZIFER

    Resident Evil

  • Joined: 09-January 02
  • Location: Vancouver Island, BC CANADA

Posted 23 November 2012 - 05:56

Are you using a Visual Style? If so, does that behavior still happen with the regular Windows 7 taskbar?

#13 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 23 November 2012 - 06:03

I get that, the most extreme way I found to 'fix' it is to close explorer.exe, then reopening it, mostly I just restart my pc or ignore it, sometimes it'll display a dotted line type of box over the last item I opened on the desktop too, I don't think there's any real danger to your systen's stability other than the obvious annoyance it causes, or at least I've not noticed any of that sort of behaviour on my pc.
Something I remember, this was present in my version of XP too... :s

#14 OP Turbonium

Turbonium

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-August 03

Posted 24 November 2012 - 07:02

Are you using a Visual Style? If so, does that behavior still happen with the regular Windows 7 taskbar?


No. That screenshot is from my system. It's just a slightly modified default Windows 7 visual.

#15 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 24 November 2012 - 08:51

I've had that on windows 7. Not having it yet on S2012.

I get that, the most extreme way I found to 'fix' it is to close explorer.exe, then reopening it, mostly I just restart my pc or ignore it, sometimes it'll display a dotted line type of box over the last item I opened on the desktop too, I don't think there's any real danger to your systen's stability other than the obvious annoyance it causes, or at least I've not noticed any of that sort of behaviour on my pc.
Something I remember, this was present in my version of XP too... :s



arrrg that was annoying on s2008 as well. and what's worse is sometimes if I dragged an icon or an object in general would be stuck on the screen till I rebooted! very annoying... what's funny is I had CELING CAT! of all things stuck on my screen!

Linkie Linky