Jump to content



Photo

GTA IV not working on Windows 8

win8

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Eddie7

Eddie7

    Hallo... www.connectw.me

  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: 1-800-CALL-ME-MAYBE

Posted 17 November 2012 - 17:02

After I upgraded my system from Windows 7 to Windows 8, my GTA IV game stopped working. Each time I click "Play", it will just keep loading at the loading screen. It will never complete. I've waiting more than 30 minutes before and it's still loading. Anyone might know how to fix this?


#2 Perfect72

Perfect72

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-January 04
  • Location: Miss., US
  • OS: Win7 64bit
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 17 November 2012 - 17:06

Have you tried compatibility?

In the main root folder:
GTAIV (Application)
LaunchGTAIV (Application)

In the RGSC folder:
RGSCLauncher (Application)

Set the compatibility on those files, and try it.

#3 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 17 November 2012 - 17:18

^^ I would try Win 7 compatibility mode, also try launching as admin

#4 Vince800

Vince800

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-May 08
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 17 November 2012 - 19:54

Have you installed Games for Windows Live?

#5 OP Eddie7

Eddie7

    Hallo... www.connectw.me

  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: 1-800-CALL-ME-MAYBE

Posted 17 November 2012 - 22:01

Have you installed Games for Windows Live?


Yes I have. I've also tried to run the game with Games for Windows Live open and unopened; both don't work.

#6 08993

08993

    It burns!

  • Joined: 23-January 02

Posted 17 November 2012 - 22:38

Works fine here, however I had read reports that it's best to get the Games for Windows Live client installed and updated and log into the client at least once to alleviate any problems, which is what I did and all GFWL games work fine.

#7 OP Eddie7

Eddie7

    Hallo... www.connectw.me

  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: 1-800-CALL-ME-MAYBE

Posted 18 November 2012 - 00:16

Works fine here, however I had read reports that it's best to get the Games for Windows Live client installed and updated and log into the client at least once to alleviate any problems, which is what I did and all GFWL games work fine.


Thanks but when I use GFWL, it shows up nothing for my "Downloads" or inventory or whatever. What is it supposed to do?

#8 08993

08993

    It burns!

  • Joined: 23-January 02

Posted 18 November 2012 - 01:15

Thanks but when I use GFWL, it shows up nothing for my "Downloads" or inventory or whatever. What is it supposed to do?


Nothing, it's just a glorified authentication agent. The pre install and pre login is just from http://lmgtfy.com/?q=gfwl+windows+8 - as I said worked for me.

#9 ArialBlue

ArialBlue

    var lulz;

  • Joined: 24-June 10
  • Location: Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • OS: Windows Master Race

Posted 18 November 2012 - 01:29

You can get GFWL disabler for GTAIV, kill GFWL, kill Rockstar Social Club, and remove a large chunk of the main menu by removing the dumb "social" features.

In the end, you can end up with a ****-poor PC port without any inbreed social features.

I recommend doing that if possible. Speeds up Click Icon -> Load Menu time.

#10 OP Eddie7

Eddie7

    Hallo... www.connectw.me

  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: 1-800-CALL-ME-MAYBE

Posted 18 November 2012 - 01:36

Nothing, it's just a glorified authentication agent. The pre install and pre login is just from http://lmgtfy.com/?q=gfwl+windows+8 - as I said worked for me.


I've looked through every single thread on Google about what you Google'd as well as looked at "gta iv forever loading" on Google. Nothing. Just nothing to resolve this.

#11 drserguey

drserguey

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 20-January 13

Posted 20 January 2013 - 00:30

Hi guys,

Just new on the forum :D !

I am experiencing exactly the same behaviour with Win8, GFWL running fine and I've tried with compatibilty for win7, winXP and running as Administrator.

Did you manage to solve the issue??

Thanks a lot!!

#12 GiLL7486

GiLL7486

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-January 06
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posted 20 January 2013 - 18:49

I had the same issue. Sounds silly but the solution that worked for me was to download and install either Microsoft Flight or Age of Empires Online. Both are on Steam or you can just download from their respective sites. Either one will do.

#13 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 20 January 2013 - 23:53

is your game fully updated?
Updating fixed it for me, if you have updated then try this > http://support.rocks...or-gta-iv-on-pc

Also try this > http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=534929

The reason I think installing another game works for some people is that it updates requirements that GTA needs also.
I have to launch game from social club too, it wont launch from desktop shortcut (it did on win 7 though)

#14 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 21 January 2013 - 00:03

If you got the game from Steam and you upgraded you may need to go into the properties and have Steam re-verify the game files.

#15 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro / Server 2012 R2 / Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 22 January 2013 - 09:16

Because it's so dependant on emulating Kevin Bacon, you might need to add both the launcher and game EXE to the firewall exceptions list. I have seen it get stuck at various pre-game screens because it doesn't always prompt for access.

If Steam has reinstalled GFWL via the setup scripts, reinstall the MS distributed setup version over the top. Games like Halo 2, GTAIV and FlatOut Ultimate Carnage have their own woefully outdated redistributable version that tends to break it.