Jump to content



Photo

If you love Windows XP, you'll hate Windows 7

win8

  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#31 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 21 November 2012 - 21:52

Lol at 'windows should have removed the RUN dialogue because you can find them by typing in the start menu'.
I just went to the start menu on my VM and typed: gpe, no results found, ctrl + r -> gpedit.msc -> oh look, group policy editor loads...

Not everything can be found in the start menu or the 'start screen' hence why the RUN dialogue was kept in W7.


Huh...I just typed gpedit.msc on the start screen and oh look. group policy editor loads...

Amazing how when you do something differently it works differently, but when you do it the same it works...funny that...


#32 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 21 November 2012 - 21:53

Lol at 'windows should have removed the RUN dialogue because you can find them by typing in the start menu'.
I just went to the start menu on my VM and typed: gpe, no results found, ctrl + r -> gpedit.msc -> oh look, group policy editor loads...

Not everything can be found in the start menu or the 'start screen' hence why the RUN dialogue was kept in W7.


Type gpedit.msc into the Search Box.

#33 MtnDewCodeRedFreak

MtnDewCodeRedFreak

    Since May 2001

  • Joined: 04-August 03
  • Location: In a place where Code Red flows ...
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 21 November 2012 - 21:56

If you love XP, you'll love 7. Why? Because it has XP Mode for free. It's been a lifesaver for legacy apps. I couldn't recommend Windows 7 highly enough almost because of that feature alone!


There you go.

#34 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 21 November 2012 - 22:46

You're all typing gpedit.msc in full, which you've been able to do in the run dialogue since windows nt/2000, I've not got the start screen here but certainly in the start menu on W7 it shows no results for 'gpe' so if you're looking for a 'hidden' program, it's backwards, and I'd imagine the 'start screen' thats being praised as some huge new succession to be equally as useless.
Talking of which, why are they hidden anyway? Obvious joe bloggs with windows home premium doesn't need gpedit but it should still show up or have an option to show up.

#35 nub

nub

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-November 06
  • Location: Amerika

Posted 21 November 2012 - 22:49

Windows 7 and Windows 8 are very different beasts

#36 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 21 November 2012 - 22:49

You're all typing gpedit.msc in full, which you've been able to do in the run dialogue since windows nt/2000, I've not got the start screen here but certainly in the start menu on W7 it shows no results for 'gpe' so if you're looking for a 'hidden' program, it's backwards, and I'd imagine the 'start screen' thats being praised as some huge new succession to be equally as useless.
Talking of which, why are they hidden anyway? Obvious joe bloggs with windows home premium doesn't need gpedit but it should still show up or have an option to show up.


Ah, your post was worded poorly, which led to a bit of confusion.

So, just wondering...how is it just as useless if you can use the Start Screen just like the Run dialog? Unless you also meant the Run dialog is also useless...in which your post was VERY poorly worded.

#37 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 21 November 2012 - 22:51

I finally gave up on the mess that is 8 and reinstalled 7 today, and I love my PC again, it works the way a PC should again and the headache of Metro and 8's strange personality all round is gone and in its place is a machine that is once again a pleasure to use

#38 shakey

shakey

    It's soooooo Educational

  • Joined: 31-March 04
  • Location: Austin, Tx

Posted 21 November 2012 - 22:51

I love windows 7, but sadly, my main pc is so old and outdated, windows xp is my only viable option. Maybe this christmas I'll upgrade :p

#39 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 21 November 2012 - 22:53

Ah, your post was worded poorly, which led to a bit of confusion.

So, just wondering...how is it just as useless if you can use the Start Screen just like the Run dialog? Unless you also meant the Run dialog is also useless...in which your post was VERY poorly worded.

Being honest I wasn't actually aware you could just type it and it'd open, as start menu just displays no results so I was doing win key + R to open things like that so it's now a completely null point haha, woulda known sooner if it displayed it as a result though.

#40 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 21 November 2012 - 22:55

Being honest I wasn't actually aware you could just type it and it'd open, as start menu just displays no results so I was doing win key + R to open things like that so it's now a completely null point haha, woulda known sooner if it displayed it as a result though.


You have to highlight "Settings" on the right for it to find things like Run, or its just searching your apps

#41 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 21 November 2012 - 23:01

I finally gave up on the mess that is 8 and reinstalled 7 today, and I love my PC again, it works the way a PC should again and the headache of Metro and 8's strange personality all round is gone and in its place is a machine that is once again a pleasure to use


BTW I noticed a ton of your issues seem to center around your networking...sounds like bunk drivers or bad hardware.

Before you say no...you might recall that when new versions of Windows come out oftentimes people find issues with hardware that they didn't realize it had before.

A lot of people finding memory issues with 8 that they didn't realize they had under 7 because of the way memory management works...and it's confirmed with things like Memtest...which can be OS independent.

Not saying you should go back to 8...but the mail issues, the disabling networking causing a freeze...all net related.

Being honest I wasn't actually aware you could just type it and it'd open, as start menu just displays no results so I was doing win key + R to open things like that so it's now a completely null point haha, woulda known sooner if it displayed it as a result though.


It's been that way since Vista if I'm not mistaken. You could just open the Start Menu (now Start Screen) type in the name of the program and hit enter.

It works for pretty much everything. :)

#42 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 21 November 2012 - 23:02

It's been that way since Vista if I'm not mistaken. You could just open the Start Menu (now Start Screen) type in the name of the program and hit enter.

It works for pretty much everything. :)

Haha yeah that's pretty mad I never noticed!
Still come back to it being a pain that things aren't fully listed until you type out the full program name though! :(

#43 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 21 November 2012 - 23:06

BTW I noticed a ton of your issues seem to center around your networking...sounds like bunk drivers or bad hardware.

Before you say no...you might recall that when new versions of Windows come out oftentimes people find issues with hardware that they didn't realize it had before.

A lot of people finding memory issues with 8 that they didn't realize they had under 7 because of the way memory management works...and it's confirmed with things like Memtest...which can be OS independent.

Not saying you should go back to 8...but the mail issues, the disabling networking causing a freeze...all net related.



It's been that way since Vista if I'm not mistaken. You could just open the Start Menu (now Start Screen) type in the name of the program and hit enter.

It works for pretty much everything. :)


I see your point but I`m fairly sure there are no hardware issues, not that being new prevents issues but most of my system is under a year old

Net issues were not the only problem, by the time I had enough of it, fresh installs of games were randomly crashing, things were generally annoying me on a daily basis, I know there are always teething problems, but I don't see any reason to put up with them when 7 is such a good OS, there is nothing in 8 that makes me want to put up with it any longer

I still have it installed on my laptop and there are no problems with it on there, but on my desktop it is a complete PITA, Metro is the most useless addition to a Windows OS I have ever seen and even using Start 8 didn't improve my experience

8 is the step to 9, that Vista was for 7 imo so I`ll happily wait

#44 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 22 November 2012 - 01:10

I finally gave up on the mess that is 8 and reinstalled 7 today, and I love my PC again, it works the way a PC should again and the headache of Metro and 8's strange personality all round is gone and in its place is a machine that is once again a pleasure to use


8 is okay. If you add a start menu on the desktop (I currently use Pokki) it's a almost useable. :D

#45 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 22 November 2012 - 01:26

it's a almost useable. :D


Yea, I almost used it :p