Jump to content



Photo

Cannot Open "Change PC Settings" in Metro

win8

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 28 November 2012 - 12:13

When I click "Change PC settings" on the Charms Bar, nothing happens. I also notice that no other settings open in Metro. Anything that can be done on the desktop works just fine. This is fresh install. I was trying out Start8 and wanted to make it minimal like much Windows 7 Start Menu was. I hid many things using the built-in options. I deleted some shortcuts. One happened to be to "Change PC settings". Surely this could not have make the issue appear, I would assume. I also used a registry edit to change the title bar size and window border size. I have the original of that, so I will apply it and log-out, log-in to see if that helps. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Giving this 8 fella another shot. Start8 definitely helps ease the transitional pain.


#2 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 28 November 2012 - 12:21

I mean this in a friendly, open, and honest manner.

A fresh install is one that has not been played with or tweaked.

What you have described is a tweaked install...which can have unexpected side effects.

If you're wanting to make the transition less painful dive in instead of tweaking it to a partially working mix.


Think of a band-aid. What is less painful...pulling it off quickly...or slowly? :)


#3 OP +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 28 November 2012 - 12:38

I mean this in a friendly, open, and honest manner.

A fresh install is one that has not been played with or tweaked.

What you have described is a tweaked install...which can have unexpected side effects.

If you're wanting to make the transition less painful dive in instead of tweaking it to a partially working mix.


Think of a band-aid. What is less painful...pulling it off quickly...or slowly? :)


I did not make major changes as far as I am concerned. A simple registry tweak and removing clutter from the Start8 Menu hardly counts as a tweaked install. That was literally all I did to it after installing a few hours ago. Anyways, I did not even consider this before, but my cat turned my surge protector off (killing my power to everything) the first time I tried installing Start8. I just figured it would not get installed, not that it would mess things up. Luckily an sfc /scannow fixed the issue. I have no clue. I have been up for almost 42 hours and I can barely think straight, lol. But due to my OCD, I had to fix this issue now.

#4 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 28 November 2012 - 13:33

I did not make major changes as far as I am concerned. A simple registry tweak and removing clutter from the Start8 Menu hardly counts as a tweaked install. That was literally all I did to it after installing a few hours ago. Anyways, I did not even consider this before, but my cat turned my surge protector off (killing my power to everything) the first time I tried installing Start8. I just figured it would not get installed, not that it would mess things up. Luckily an sfc /scannow fixed the issue. I have no clue. I have been up for almost 42 hours and I can barely think straight, lol. But due to my OCD, I had to fix this issue now.


Ouch...I know that feeling. I have recurring insomnia and a touch of OCD on occasion for some stuff.

Glad you got it sorted out. :)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!