Jump to content



Photo

How to get rid of Windows Defender

win8

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 29 November 2012 - 14:25

So,a couple of days back, I installed Windows 8 Pro on a friend' laptop.

Today, he called me and said that he needs to get rid of the Windows Defender.

When inquired about it, I was told that it is randomly spiking up the processor to maximum, even on the newly installed Windows with only a few number of known softwares. I spent some time with it and it was the MsMpEng.exe
I also has had some bad experiences with that thing. Never really understood it completely :wacko:

So, is there a way to get rid of it? What should be done.

And suggest a good, trusted alternative.



Regards...


#2 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 29 November 2012 - 14:30

There is no way to turn it off, however, I think if you install something else, it will allow the new AV to run in its place.

#3 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 7/8.1, BSD Unix, Arch Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 29 November 2012 - 14:33

Sure you can, under settings and then administrator. Turn the thing off and then optionally disable the service.

#4 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 29 November 2012 - 14:33

I know on Vista, deffender is actually listed as a startup app and can easilly be disabled with CCleaner. Maybe it is the same with 7? I've never really paid attention.

#5 Farstrider

Farstrider

    The Clash

  • Joined: 16-March 03
  • Location: Somerset West, Cape Town, SA
  • OS: Arch Linux

Posted 29 November 2012 - 14:35

Go and have a look here, tells you all you need to know.

...and here for Windows 7, it looks like!

#6 DudeBro

DudeBro

    /人◕ ‿‿ ◕人\

  • Joined: 30-July 05
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 29 November 2012 - 15:26

You don't have to completely disable it. Just turn off the real time protection and that will get rid of the cpu usage. That way at least you can still use it as an on-demand scanner.

#7 +Chris123NT

Chris123NT

    Win8 Master

  • Joined: 01-November 01
  • Location: New York

Posted 29 November 2012 - 15:46

You don't have to completely disable it. Just turn off the real time protection and that will get rid of the cpu usage. That way at least you can still use it as an on-demand scanner.

Except there's no explorer integration to right click and scan files like you can do with MSE on Windows 7, so that kind of makes it useless even as an on demand scanner.

#8 DudeBro

DudeBro

    /人◕ ‿‿ ◕人\

  • Joined: 30-July 05
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 29 November 2012 - 16:00

Except there's no explorer integration to right click and scan files like you can do with MSE on Windows 7, so that kind of makes it useless even as an on demand scanner.

http://www.thewindowsclub.com/add-windows-defender-features-windows-8-desktop-context-menu
http://www.thewindow...-menu-windows-8
You can add a right click menu with a registry tweak. Anyway what I meant was you can still use it to occasionally scan in addition to whatever other security software you choose to run. So disable real time protection and it sits in the background hardly using any resources. Then you can use malwarebytes or something as your on demand scanner and Common Sense 2013 pro edition on top of that. Multiple layers of security at no performance cost :)

#9 OP Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 29 November 2012 - 18:23

Okay, so thats figured out.
Now, which one should I install in place of Defender?

Don't have much idea in this particular catagory

#10 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 30 November 2012 - 00:32

Do you want free or paid?

#11 Mr Nom Nom's

Mr Nom Nom's

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-January 11
  • OS: OS X 10.10.1
  • Phone: iPhone 6 128GB

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:48

Rather than just ignoring the problem, did he do an upgrade or clean install? When did he start noticing the problem? Far too many times people whine about something when the cause is completely unrelated to what appears to be the source.

#12 Marshall

Marshall

    ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 22-June 03
  • Location: USA

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:29

Okay, so thats figured out.
Now, which one should I install in place of Defender?

Don't have much idea in this particular catagory


For a free solution, my vote goes to MSE.

For paid - Eset, hands down.

#13 Colin McGregor

Colin McGregor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-September 11
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8 x64, Gentoo x64 Sometimes
  • Phone: Samsung Ativ S WP8

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:33

For a free solution, my vote goes to MSE.

For paid - Eset, hands down.


MSE is Windows Defender in Windows 8.

Is he sure defender is the issue. I just looked at the 4 computers I have Windows 8 installed on and the highest of the 4 is 76mb of ram.

#14 Ace

Ace

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-November 01
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:43

Installing a third-party antivirus program disables the built-in Windows Defender.

#15 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia

Posted 01 December 2012 - 10:44

My favourite free is Avast, I always used that until I upgraded to win8. Now I use defender (formerly MSE)
My CPU spikes to 100% sometimes too, when I try to open an .exe I downloaded for example. Its the real time protection scanning the file before it lets you open it. Its not a reason to "get rid" of defender. Removing something for doing what it is supposed to seems daft to me.
However, as i said, Avast is my favourite free anti virus and also has real time scanning (which will still use high CPU)