Jump to content



Photo

Can't access store

win8

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 12 December 2012 - 22:21

I just installed Win 8 Enterprise as a dual boot VHD on my laptop. I'm having a problem though - when I try to access the store, I get an error message saying "We weren't able to connect to the Store. This might have happened because of a server problem or hte network connection timed out. Please wait a few minutes and try again".

I've seen that this somewhat of a common issue, and I've tried a few fixes (WSreset.exe, app troubleshooter) but still it isn't working. Even using a local account isn't working :-/ I've tried a wireless and wired connection, and flushing dns.

Anyone have any suggestions or experienced this problem?

Edit: Added picture.

Attached Images

  • store_error.jpg



#2 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 12 December 2012 - 22:28

I built one on Hyper-V yesterday and it's not experiencing this issue but it is fully up-to-date with yesterday's patches and activated. Are you using an Evaluation version, fully activated KMS/retail or using grace time/non-activated ?

#3 OP cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 12 December 2012 - 22:39

I probably should mention as well - I do have internet access in all other apps (mail, internet explorer) and on the desktop. The people app won't let me add facebook though... I think it also shows an error (Edit: Facebook connected now).

It's the Windows 8 Enterprise Evaluation (x86). System info shows that it's activated. I only have one more update pending (a 107MB one).

#4 OP cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 12 December 2012 - 23:26

Hmm... so I tried
cmd
wsreset.exe /? to see what options might be available and volia... working store.

Not sure if something just decided to start working with wsreset, or if it was an update or what... but yay working store.

#5 OP cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 31 December 2012 - 02:29

Ok I figured it out. My particular case happened on TWO separate computers on the same network and I narrowed it down to IPv6 connectivity, as I have both IPv4 and IPv6 at home. I disabled IPv6 (unfortunately) and the store **immediately** started working. So if you can't access the store, try disabling IPv6.

If someone else can confirm this (can't access store with IPv6), I'd appreciate it. Seems like MS should be aware of that.
What's weird though is other apps like Music could see that it needed an update... and the store app SHOWED 15 pending updates... but I couldn't see the store front until I disabled IPv6.

#6 aexphoric

aexphoric

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-April 09
  • Location: Southern UK

Posted 24 January 2013 - 12:13

Sorry for the late reply, I'm experiencing the *exact* same symptoms. Someone posted on superuser regarding this too. http://superuser.com...dows-store-fail

It's occurring on a desktop and a laptop, both linked to a Microsoft Account.

Disabling IPv6 fixed it and was able to install the 15 updates. It seems to be an issue on Microsoft's / CloudFlare's end. Pretty annoying.

#7 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia

Posted 24 January 2013 - 12:18

nevermind, think i got mixed up