Jump to content



Photo
win8

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 AndyD

AndyD

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: NYC

Posted 23 December 2012 - 22:05

I rather not use Teamviewer within my LAN since it is noticeably slower. The only thing is that I would prefer to be able to log into another PC without that PC locking. Is that possible? All the PCs have Win 8 Pro


#2 MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64Ce Pro w/Media nter Pack/Core i7 4790K/16GB DDR3 1600/Samsung 850 Pro 256GB x 2 - Raid 0/Transcend M.2 256GB/ASRock Z97E-ITXac/GTX 970
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 Active

Posted 23 December 2012 - 22:11

I'm not aware of a way, but you can use remote assistance.

#3 zhangm

zhangm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 23 December 2012 - 22:12

Yes. It involves patching a system file. At least one utility is available to do this; search for "Multiple RDP (Remote Desktop) sessions on Windows 8".

#4 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 2012R2, 7, BSD Unix, Arch Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Work) Lumia 1020 (Home)

Posted 23 December 2012 - 22:12

I rather not use Teamviewer within my LAN since it is noticeably slower. The only thing is that I would prefer to be able to log into another PC without that PC locking. Is that possible? All the PCs have Win 8 Pro

Unless something's changed, officially, no. It's a limitation of the desktop version of remote desktop, one active session at a time. There is a couple *cough* unofficial ways around that limitation in the previous desktop versions of the OS, no idea if it's been done for 8 yet. I'd suspect it can't be mentioned here.

#5 OP AndyD

AndyD

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: NYC

Posted 23 December 2012 - 23:24

Ah ok. I remember doing this for Windows XP. I'll have a look around

#6 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    "the sun is definitely rising on a new dawn!"

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 23 December 2012 - 23:33

Yes. It involves patching a system file. At least one utility is available to do this; search for "Multiple RDP (Remote Desktop) sessions on Windows 8".

Thanks ;)

#7 Rohdekill

Rohdekill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 05
  • Location: Earth

Posted 23 December 2012 - 23:50

Web-Ex can do this, but it isn't practical for home use.

#8 +RedReddington

RedReddington

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 24 December 2012 - 00:26

Yeah you can view the other person session if that's what you mean! I'm sure you can somehow...

#9 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 36
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 24 December 2012 - 00:48

Vnc would be a way to go. Well there is sccm but it is not free nor can you put it on without a server.

#10 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 107
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 24 December 2012 - 16:48

"Teamviewer within my LAN since it is noticeably slower"

And are you connecting via lan, or going through their brokerage service. Just connecting via lan should be faster you would think. Are you running the current version 8?