Jump to content



Photo

W8 and dual monitors - some questions regarding setup..

win8

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Dutchie64

Dutchie64

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-October 12

Posted 06 January 2013 - 12:01

Hi all,

Running a dual monitor W7 system atm, and looking to upgrade to W8.

But my main question is about dual monitor work. I cannot really find proper information on this, it's all very contradictory....

What I would like to have while working, is the desktop stretched across my two monitors so I can have applications open on both monitors.

When accessing the start menu, it should open up on the second monitor, but keep the desktop focus on my main monitor.
Running Metro apps should be done on the second monitor as well, not the main monitor

By switching back to the desktop (main monitor) W8 should replace/hide the Start menu/Metro app again for the desktop on the second monitor.

Is this possible to set up in W8?
I hope I explained it well enough ;-)

cheers for any answers,

rob


#2 InterceptorX

InterceptorX

    When my .50 cals clappin, bandits dirt nappin'

  • Joined: 02-August 08
  • Location: Streator, IL
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: SGH i777

Posted 06 January 2013 - 12:46

Yes, you can do that stuff.

#3 OP Dutchie64

Dutchie64

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-October 12

Posted 06 January 2013 - 12:56

A man of few words ;-)

So I can assume all this is basic functionality in W8? No need for 3rd party stuff?

thanks,

rob

#4 vetScorpus

Scorpus

    Tim Schiesser

  • Joined: 04-May 11
  • Location: Australia

Posted 06 January 2013 - 13:14

That stuff is mostly default behavior. You will have to open the Start screen by clicking the bottom left corner of your second monitor to get it to open on said second monitor, but everything else is possible. After you've done that once, pressing the Start key on your keyboard will open the Start screen to the monitor it was last on

#5 +-T-

-T-

    Trapmaster

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: Western Australia & Scotland

Posted 06 January 2013 - 13:19

As others have said, this is all pretty simple to do out of the box. Very happy with the multiple monitor set-up on 8

#6 OP Dutchie64

Dutchie64

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-October 12

Posted 06 January 2013 - 13:46

cheers guys, was hoping for those answers :-)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!