Jump to content



Photo

New Windows 8 Watermark

win8

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 McKay

McKay

    Worth the weight

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 6

Posted 18 January 2013 - 22:13

I've had the final build of Windows 8 since it was available on TechNet and it's never had a Build Watermark in the corner, I recently added in Media Center and now a Watermark has appeared on my Desktop. Is there any way to get rid of it?

Posted Image


#2 ashpowell

ashpowell

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-November 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 18 January 2013 - 22:14

Restart your computer

#3 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 18 January 2013 - 22:17

Don't know if this was a fix... but you could try this:
Hope this works - in the past this was a way turn it off.

gpedit.msc

Look for "show version number on desktop"

Click disable. or configure. - There was a setting that said "DON"T SHOW"
also -
check for activation then reboot.

"some have suggested" the checking for activation then a reboot fixes that.

#4 guitmz

guitmz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-June 11
  • Location: Brazil
  • OS: Windows 8, Arch Linux, OSX 10.9
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 18 January 2013 - 22:19

just reboot... same happened to me

#5 sjms

sjms

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-January 04

Posted 18 January 2013 - 22:21

as was said REBOOT

#6 link6155

link6155

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-August 10
  • OS: Windows 10 Technical Preview

Posted 18 January 2013 - 22:23

Restart your computer? I had this too, but once i restarted, it said I was activated and good to go.

#7 OP McKay

McKay

    Worth the weight

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 6

Posted 18 January 2013 - 22:44

I've restarted twice now and the watermark is still there.

#8 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 18 January 2013 - 22:52

Are you activated ?

#9 OP McKay

McKay

    Worth the weight

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 6

Posted 18 January 2013 - 22:57

Are you activated ?


Yeah, it's always been activated since I first got it.

#10 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 18 January 2013 - 23:00

Yeah, it's always been activated since I first got it.


Just with MS plugging the Media Centre piracy hole, I wonder if keys accessed by the same free method have been revoked / blacklisted in some way ?

#11 Marshall

Marshall

    ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 22-June 03
  • Location: USA

Posted 18 January 2013 - 23:13

Check the notification center for information about the issue that causes its appearance. Media Center installation warns about the start-up services Media Center needs and offers to disable them. Once that issue is resolved, your watermark should disappear.

Edit:

Yeah, it's always been activated since I first got it.


Sometimes the installation of Media Center will deactivate Windows, have you checked since this issue? If this is the case, just reactivate. :)

#12 +Tech Greek

Tech Greek

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-October 08
  • Location: Shreveport, LA

Posted 18 January 2013 - 23:15

If Windows is not activated that will popup too!

#13 OP McKay

McKay

    Worth the weight

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 6

Posted 18 January 2013 - 23:29

Check the notification center for information about the issue that causes its appearance. Media Center installation warns about the start-up services Media Center needs and offers to disable them. Once that issue is resolved, your watermark should disappear.

Edit:



Sometimes the installation of Media Center will deactivate Windows, have you checked since this issue? If this is the case, just reactivate. :)


Notification Centre is only moaning at me to backup since I turned off Auto-backup 2 weeks ago, and asking me to solve a problem with GTA Vice City not working correctly. I've checked the PC Properties and it says Windows is still activated... :/

Untitled.png

#14 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 18 January 2013 - 23:30

Don't know if this was a fix... but you could try this:
Hope this works - in the past this was a way turn it off.

gpedit.msc

Look for "show version number on desktop"

Click disable. or configure. - There was a setting that said "DON"T SHOW"
also -
check for activation then reboot.

"some have suggested" the checking for activation then a reboot fixes that.

Yeah, it's always been activated since I first got it.


check for activation then reboot.

"some have suggested" the checking for activation then a reboot fixes that.


#15 Robbie Ride

Robbie Ride

    Robbie Jardine

  • Joined: 09-January 06
  • Location: Glasgow, Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center

Posted 18 January 2013 - 23:32

Changing the wallpaper usually fixes the issue, worked for me