Jump to content



Photo

HOWTO: Force-update Flash Player for IE10 on Windows 8

win8

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 t4ki0n

t4ki0n

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-March 07

Posted 27 January 2013 - 06:24

As everyone may already be aware, Microsoft's Adobe Flash Player updates were just security patches, leaving the ActiveX control still at the factory-shipped version!

So I found this over on the Adobe Forums:

HOWTO: Force-update Flash Player for IE10 on Windows 8

Tired of waiting around for Microsoft to issue a Windows update for Flash Player since... well... forever?

Windows 8 ships with Flash Player version 11.3.378.5 while now we're already at version 11.5.502.146! Adobe won't update this ActiveX control if you're using Windows 8, because apparently Microsoft has to release the update themselves. They promised to release such updates frequently, however, it's been many months and not one update had ever been released as of yet.

Here's how you can bud in, get in there, and update the ActiveX control yourself:

  • Notice the version you have installed right now by looking at #2 on this page: http://helpx.adobe.c...ash-player.html
  • Download the new Flash.ocx files (32-bit and 64-bit) here: http://sites.google....1_5_502_146.zip
  • Copy these instructions into Notepad or similar, because you must close all running instances of Internet Explorer right now.
  • Go to C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash
  • Right-click Flash.ocx and go to Properties.
  • Go to the Security tab, and then click Advanced.
  • Click Change next to "Owner:"
  • Type the following into the box that appeared and then click OK: Administrators
  • Under "Permission entries:" double-click "Administrators", check the box "Full control" and then click OK.
  • Click OK and then click Yes.
  • Click OK.
  • Rename Flash.ocx to Flash-original.ocx
  • From the ZIP file you downloaded you will see a folder called System32. In there, copy the Flash.ocx file to C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash
  • That was for the 32-bit version that gets used. Now repeat steps 3 through 12 for the 64-bit version which also gets used, by replacing all occurrences of "System32" above with "SysWOW64". If you do not find a folder on your computer at C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash then you actually do not need to repeat the steps for the 64-bit version, because your Windows 8 edition is 32-bit

And PRESTO! Revisit #2 on this page and notice the new version number detected: http://helpx.adobe.c...ash-player.html

Granted; there are version number entries to update in the registry but I doubt that this makes any difference. Best to leave those as-is in case an update finally comes along.


ENJOY!




#2 Denis W.

Denis W.

    The True North!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-March 05
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario [CA]
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro and OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 27 January 2013 - 06:57

Thanks (Y)

This restores Optimus kicking in for Flash videos in IE. Definitely helps with smoother playback of videos.

#3 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 28 January 2013 - 21:36

I wonder why MS hasn't updated it yet? I guess they're double and triple checking things for bugs and security holes so maybe. Unless they only update it when they push out a bigger IE update?

#4 Mr Nom Nom's

Mr Nom Nom's

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-January 11
  • OS: OS X 10.10.0
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 30 January 2013 - 14:19

I wonder why MS hasn't updated it yet? I guess they're double and triple checking things for bugs and security holes so maybe. Unless they only update it when they push out a bigger IE update?


The issue isn't Microsoft but Adobe - that is where the venting and frustration should be focused.

#5 Colin McGregor

Colin McGregor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-September 11
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8 x64, Gentoo x64 Sometimes
  • Phone: Samsung Ativ S WP8

Posted 30 January 2013 - 14:22

The issue isn't Microsoft but Adobe - that is where the venting and frustration should be focused.


its always ms's fault :)

I have no issues with ie10 and flash. My lady friends however complain Facebook games sometimes lag.

#6 OP t4ki0n

t4ki0n

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-March 07

Posted 04 February 2013 - 07:28

Revised instructions including 11.6 beta OCX files:
  • Download your choice of Flash version here: https://sites.google...e/flashactivex/
  • Copy these instructions into Notepad or similar, because you must close all running instances of Internet Explorer right now.
  • Press WindowsKey+Pause to bring up your System information. Check which "System type" you have.
32-bit system type:
  • Go to C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash
  • Right-click Flash.ocx and go to Properties.
  • Go to the Security tab, and then click Advanced.
  • Click Change next to "Owner:"
  • Type the following into the box that appeared and then click OK: Administrators
  • Under "Permission entries:" double-click "Administrators", check the box "Full control" and then click OK.
  • Click OK and then click Yes.
  • Click OK.
  • Rename Flash.ocx to Flash-original.ocx
  • From the ZIP file you downloaded you will see a folder called SysWOW64. In there, copy the Flash.ocx file to C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash. SysWOW64 contains the 32-bit version of Flash.
64-bit system type:
  • Go to C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash
  • Right-click Flash.ocx and go to Properties.
  • Go to the Security tab, and then click Advanced.
  • Click Change next to "Owner:"
  • Type the following into the box that appeared and then click OK: Administrators
  • Under "Permission entries:" double-click "Administrators", check the box "Full control" and then click OK.
  • Click OK and then click Yes.
  • Click OK.
  • Rename Flash.ocx to Flash-original.ocx
  • From the ZIP file you downloaded you will see a folder called System32. In there, copy the Flash.ocx file to C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash. System32 contains the 64-bit version of Flash.
  • That was for the 64-bit version that gets used. Now repeat these steps for the 32-bit version which also gets used, by replacing all occurrences of "System32" above with "SysWOW64".

Revisit #2 on this page and notice the new version number detected: http://helpx.adobe.c...ash-player.html

#7 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 04 February 2013 - 08:40

I was looking at the flash page on adobe.com and the newest version for Windows 8 is 11.3.x, while Windows 7 is up to 11.5. That's the official status right now. I bet MS will push out 11.5 at some point but since it's now built into IE10 it'll take some time.

#8 Mr Nom Nom's

Mr Nom Nom's

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-January 11
  • OS: OS X 10.10.0
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 05 February 2013 - 12:38

I was looking at the flash page on adobe.com and the newest version for Windows 8 is 11.3.x, while Windows 7 is up to 11.5. That's the official status right now. I bet MS will push out 11.5 at some point but since it's now built into IE10 it'll take some time.


IIRC Adobe has a special build to take into account the changes made in the Metro version. I do hope at some point that eventually either they upgrade or websites move over to html5 quickly.

#9 Javik

Javik

    #GamerGate

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 05 February 2013 - 12:51

Is there any pressing reason that they're using a version of Flash on Windows 8 that is 2 cycles out of date?

#10 Mr Nom Nom's

Mr Nom Nom's

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-January 11
  • OS: OS X 10.10.0
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 05 February 2013 - 13:49

Is there any pressing reason that they're using a version of Flash on Windows 8 that is 2 cycles out of date?


Look above yoru post - I answered that very question. Please actually read peoples posts and you might learn something.

#11 Javik

Javik

    #GamerGate

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 05 February 2013 - 23:39

I don't see why the condescending rudeness was necessary, your post wasn't there when I opened the reply box. And it would be nice if people considered these possibilities before being rude.

#12 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 12 February 2013 - 23:26

Holy crap they (officially) updated Flash on IE10 to 11.6!

I might faint ;)

No more need for this, hopefully ever.

#13 mikesingh

mikesingh

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-May 08
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64
  • Phone: Sprint Samsung ATIV S Neo

Posted 12 February 2013 - 23:42

I haven't updated my Flash manually at all, but I did notice last week that I got a Flash Player update thru Windows Update (I believe to 11.5). Imagine my surprise when I checked for updates after remembering it was Patch Tuesday and SHAZAM, another Flash update (11.6).

I remember having gotten Flash updates previously, but none ever so quickly and close to another. Hopefully Adobe/Microsoft keep the ball rolling.. maybe an update every Patch Tuesday would be a good schedule.

#14 syobon999

syobon999

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-December 09

Posted 12 February 2013 - 23:52

i prefer to wait the official update

#15 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 13 February 2013 - 00:31

I haven't updated my Flash manually at all, but I did notice last week that I got a Flash Player update thru Windows Update (I believe to 11.5). Imagine my surprise when I checked for updates after remembering it was Patch Tuesday and SHAZAM, another Flash update (11.6).

I remember having gotten Flash updates previously, but none ever so quickly and close to another. Hopefully Adobe/Microsoft keep the ball rolling.. maybe an update every Patch Tuesday would be a good schedule.

No, the recent one was still 11.3

Todays changed it to 11.6