Jump to content



Photo

Windows High DPI (Retina)

win8

  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#31 Rudy

Rudy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-September 01
  • Location: Ottawa, On

Posted 29 January 2013 - 02:26

With my MacbookPro I've had a pretty bad time using Win8, 100% dpi was too small and 200% looked weird


#32 mrp04

mrp04

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-June 04

Posted 29 January 2013 - 02:27

With my MacbookPro I've had a pretty bad time using Win8, 100% dpi was too small and 200% looked weird


Could you post a screenshot of 200%?

#33 Rudy

Rudy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-September 01
  • Location: Ottawa, On

Posted 29 January 2013 - 03:01

Could you post a screenshot of 200%?

I don't have it anymore, I've passed the rMBP to my wife and I used her MBA since I got my 27" iMac

#34 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 29 January 2013 - 05:11

200% UI scale should look fine on a "200% density" (This stuff isn't exact, think of it as a fuzz factor) screen, that it doesn't look fine points to underlying issues with how Windows handles it. I know when I've tried experimenting with it in the past UI elements just looked "wrong" (Like they were being scaled incorrectly)

#35 OP Jeezy4

Jeezy4

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-January 13

Posted 29 January 2013 - 05:20

I don't expect that there is any such replies to this topic.
I use Windows 8 Pro with 200% on a rMPB it goes pretty good, however not everything is suitable.
Here are some examples:
Desktop + Origin (very small even if the dpi is set to 200%) http://d.pr/i/fVN6

VLC (dialog box not adapted) http://d.pr/i/GOzp

NSIS (police blur) http://d.pr/i/22Uu

Steam (police blur) http://d.pr/i/GDb8

Kaspersky (adapted interface but font too small) http://d.pr/i/UvRx

Google Chrome (police blur) It should be fixed in a future version of Chrome http://code.google.c...etail?id=149881

For now the only apps that I found partially adapted to Retina screens are Office 2013, VS 2012 (fuzzy icon) and the Metro interface.

Besides, I have another question how to make IE 10 or Chrome displays images x2 Apple's website!

I would put other screenshot later.

#36 thomastmc

thomastmc

    Unofficial Attorney of Neowin

  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Kansas City
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Lumia 928

Posted 29 January 2013 - 05:46

I'm blind (figuratively) and I use a 24" display at 1920x1080. Always have had to scale up font size to 150%.

You have to make sure that "Windows XP Style Scaling" is checked or else many applications, like Chrome, look horrible. Other than that it's usually cross platform GUI kits like GTK that have trouble scaling and cause fonts to overflow or be misplaced. It's usually not a problem for me.

#37 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 29 January 2013 - 06:05

I just changed the DPI on my work computer to verify that the same massively annoying bug still exists in Windows 7 DPI scaling. If you change your DPI, the superbar won't ever hide behind an app that's full screen. You have to change the superbar to autohide to get it to go away. This is incredibly annoying on an HTPC that frequently has full screen apps that you don't want to superbar hanging out on. This is more annoying than any of the blurry third party issues. Plus, regardless of who is to blame, there are so many inconsistencies when using high DPI mode in Windows that it's just hard to seriously use. They need to push third parties to update their apps with all these higher resolution screens coming out. It'll be impossible to use an HTPC on a 4k screen without DPI scaling.

That's an app bug not a windows bug. MediaPortal used to do this, but now works properly in hgh dpi.

#38 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 29 January 2013 - 06:25

I don't expect that there is any such replies to this topic.
I use Windows 8 Pro with 200% on a rMPB it goes pretty good, however not everything is suitable.
Here are some examples:
Desktop + Origin (very small even if the dpi is set to 200%) http://d.pr/i/fVN6

VLC (dialog box not adapted) http://d.pr/i/GOzp

NSIS (police blur) http://d.pr/i/22Uu

Steam (police blur) http://d.pr/i/GDb8

Kaspersky (adapted interface but font too small) http://d.pr/i/UvRx

Google Chrome (police blur) It should be fixed in a future version of Chrome http://code.google.c...etail?id=149881

For now the only apps that I found partially adapted to Retina screens are Office 2013, VS 2012 (fuzzy icon) and the Metro interface.

Besides, I have another question how to make IE 10 or Chrome displays images x2 Apple's website!

I would put other screenshot later.


Thanks for the screenshots (Y)

Regarding the bolded bit, that's a bit tough. IE has always handled this stuff a bit strangely (You'll see similar issues on high-dpi WP devices), and Chrome should get support in a future release (Since WebKit already exposes it to content in a non-standard way). Firefox can handle this (Via standard methods, and the same JS extension WebKit uses), but it's half disabled by default due to issues.

Interesting that Steam has issues since that uses DirectWrite (and by extension, Direct2D, hopefully), and that supports resolution independence by default, so they've either broken it, or are using some strange rendering method that breaks it.

Edit: O, for the rest of the stuff, disabling XP style scaling should "help" (It'll just be pixel doubled then, so blurry but scaled properly)

#39 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 29 January 2013 - 07:54

Interesting. Mine is not doing that. I launched XBMC from Start, then opened an explorer window. Then went back to XBMC. The bar was not on top. I'm using 8, so maybe its fixed on 8.

Yes there is room for improvements.


I'm using Windows 8, it's not fixed and quite easy to trigger.

150% Non-XP

Attached Images

  • XBMC-150Scale_Non-XP.jpg


#40 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 29 January 2013 - 08:16

Again, it's a problem with XBMC. they need to fix their code and add support for high DPI. MP used to have the same issue, which has since been fixed for the last 6-12 months, not sure.

Tell XBMC to fix their broken code, or change to a working properly coded MC solution. both MediaPortal and Plex have no problem with the taskbar in High DPI.

#41 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 29 January 2013 - 09:24

Citrix Receiver is also broken, Hyper-V Console, Active Directory Administration Center and occasionally Server Manager.

In Windows 7, this issue is hard to reproduce unless you move the super bar to the top of the screen.

In Windows 8, the way the super bar is composited onto the desktop has changed and they are not providing backwards compatibility to some common methods of detecting what the desktop space area is.

#42 nekkidtruth

nekkidtruth

    I'm sorry, do you still exist?

  • Joined: 10-March 07
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Stock LG Nexus 5

Posted 29 January 2013 - 09:36

Again, it's a problem with XBMC. they need to fix their code and add support for high DPI. MP used to have the same issue, which has since been fixed for the last 6-12 months, not sure.

Tell XBMC to fix their broken code, or change to a working properly coded MC solution. both MediaPortal and Plex have no problem with the taskbar in High DPI.


Although I don't doubt XBMC is buggy, this happens to me as well and I don't even use or have XBMC installed. This is triggered for me whenever I go to full screen mode for any video online. Including but not limited to Youtube.

#43 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 29 January 2013 - 10:41

with what browser, never had this issue on any videos in a browser, just specific programs, which don't support high dpi modes.

#44 nekkidtruth

nekkidtruth

    I'm sorry, do you still exist?

  • Joined: 10-March 07
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Stock LG Nexus 5

Posted 29 January 2013 - 11:14

with what browser, never had this issue on any videos in a browser, just specific programs, which don't support high dpi modes.


With Chrome. To be honest I haven't tested with any other browser.

#45 mrp04

mrp04

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-June 04

Posted 29 January 2013 - 16:37

I really never see this on my HTPC at 150% with XBMC or even on my desktop when I set it to 125%, 135%, 150%, and 200%. XBMC 12 RC3 always stayed on top of the bar.
I've also used N64 emulator and YouTube in IE without issue.