Jump to content



Photo

Internet Explorer 10 RTM for Windows 7 SP1 available

win7 ie 10 rtw

  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#16 manosdoc

manosdoc

    Neowinian

  • 383 posts
  • Joined: 03-December 08
  • Location: Greece

Posted 26 February 2013 - 13:52

IE10 has built in Adblocking mechanism through ActiveX Filtering + Tracking Protection lists (adblocking and privacy) at the http level saving bandwidth.
The best HTML5 H.264 video acceleration in Youtube
www.youtube.com/html5

Attached Images

  • IE10.JPG



#17 Buendia

Buendia

    Neowinian

  • 658 posts
  • Joined: 09-February 09

Posted 26 February 2013 - 13:59

Great! It's noticeably faster than IE9 while browsing and managing tabs.

#18 DpwOX545

DpwOX545

    Neowinian

  • 17 posts
  • Joined: 17-July 05

Posted 26 February 2013 - 14:02

While Google Chrome is my browser of choice, I am glad to see IE has been updated finally. One thing though I'm curious about is, I saw that the preview release of IE10 also required a pre-release of the Win7 SP1 Platform Update, does this automatically get installed when you run the IE10 installer?

#19 Buendia

Buendia

    Neowinian

  • 658 posts
  • Joined: 09-February 09

Posted 26 February 2013 - 14:05

While Google Chrome is my browser of choice, I am glad to see IE has been updated finally. One thing though I'm curious about is, I saw that the preview release of IE10 also required a pre-release of the Win7 SP1 Platform Update, does this automatically get installed when you run the IE10 installer?


Yes, it does get installed with IE10.

#20 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 February 2013 - 14:15

Hitting full screen in YT HTML5 does not go to full screen in IE10, it maximises to the size of the browser window

#21 manosdoc

manosdoc

    Neowinian

  • 383 posts
  • Joined: 03-December 08
  • Location: Greece

Posted 26 February 2013 - 14:16

Hit F11

#22 cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • 7,934 posts
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 26 February 2013 - 14:27

Chrome + Adblock for me.
Until there's a suitable replacement on IE, I just can't bring myself to use it again.



I'm so glad I use Firefox, so glad..


So glad I'm using Linux right now!!

Sorry, couldn't resist that one, but I AM using Linux!!

IE10 is DEFINITELY faster, even pre-release! Glad to see it! :)

#23 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 February 2013 - 14:30

Hit F11


That just hides the edges of the browser, hitting fullscreen should correctly take over the entire screen

#24 manosdoc

manosdoc

    Neowinian

  • 383 posts
  • Joined: 03-December 08
  • Location: Greece

Posted 26 February 2013 - 14:36

Hitting F11 takes over the entire screen on my 1080p monitor.

#25 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 February 2013 - 14:40

Hitting F11 takes over the entire screen on my 1080p monitor.


Yea I know, but that is not what I am saying, I know what F11 does, I`m saying the full screen BUTTON doesn't go full screen, it only takes over the size of the browser window, so if you have IE10 windowed to 800x600 on a 1920x1080 LCD, you do not get full screen, you only get 800x600 and it still leaves the IE10 border

Posted Image

#26 manosdoc

manosdoc

    Neowinian

  • 383 posts
  • Joined: 03-December 08
  • Location: Greece

Posted 26 February 2013 - 14:56

It's mentioned.

Attached Images

  • html5.JPG


#27 Quppa

Quppa

    Neowinian

  • 102 posts
  • Joined: 20-July 08

Posted 26 February 2013 - 15:14

Look at that beautiful ClearType font smoothing. Why can't IE10 for Windows 8 render fonts like that? :(

#28 manosdoc

manosdoc

    Neowinian

  • 383 posts
  • Joined: 03-December 08
  • Location: Greece

Posted 26 February 2013 - 15:26

The screenshots are from IE10 Desktop on Windows 8

#29 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • 18,452 posts
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 26 February 2013 - 15:31

Wonder if there will be this same release gap with IE11. I wonder if they had to back port a good chunk of stuff to 7 which delayed this release of IE10.

#30 torrentthief

torrentthief

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,688 posts
  • Joined: 18-November 06

Posted 26 February 2013 - 16:00

64bit full installer: http://www.microsoft...s.aspx?id=36806 (42.2mb)
32bit full installer: http://www.microsoft...s.aspx?id=36808 (21.9mb)