Jump to content



Photo

Computer displaying wrong Uptime.

Answered Go to the full post win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 27 September 2013 - 04:56

Ever since I installed the Windows 8.1 RTM, my computer has displayed an uptime of since I installed it. I shut it down every night (Physically select Shutdown, not Hibernate or Sleep).

 

Obviously this isn't a serious issue (I hope) but any ideas as to whats causing it? Heck during those 15 days my Computer was even unplugged from the Wall when I moved it to another location.

 

l4D7Iyi.png



Best Answer +virtorio , 27 September 2013 - 07:16

It's a feature called "Fast startup", and works basically how Hawkman said.

 

Here is some more info, and how to disable it, if you're interested:

http://www.eightforu...indows-8-a.html

Go to the full post



#2 Kelxin

Kelxin

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-April 04

Posted 27 September 2013 - 05:01

If you have a female computer plugged in too close, you'll notice a sustained uptime without explanation.  Unplug the offending computer and put it into another room, and your computer wont have these issues anymore.



#3 alwaysonacoffebreak

alwaysonacoffebreak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-January 12
  • Location: Estonia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Posted 27 September 2013 - 05:02

If you have a female computer plugged in too close, you'll notice a sustained uptime without explanation.  Unplug the offending computer and put it into another room, and your computer wont have these issues anymore.

 

What? How does that interfere with the OS's ability to read uptime?



#4 xbamaris

xbamaris

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 27-October 09

Posted 27 September 2013 - 05:17

What? How does that interfere with the OS's ability to read uptime?

 

It was a joke... 

 

Anyway, That is a strange one. Are you positive its not being hibernated some how? Hibernation retains up time I think. Same with sleep. 

 

If you do a complete shutdown. Does it go up to 15 days instantly?



#5 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 27 September 2013 - 06:41

As I recall, windows 8 when you turn it off goes into a sort of hibernation for faster boot time.

Still closes all your apps but the OS hibernates.

#6 +virtorio

virtorio

    4089 III

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.9, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 27 September 2013 - 07:16   Best Answer

It's a feature called "Fast startup", and works basically how Hawkman said.

 

Here is some more info, and how to disable it, if you're interested:

http://www.eightforu...indows-8-a.html



#7 OP McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 27 September 2013 - 16:24

As I recall, windows 8 when you turn it off goes into a sort of hibernation for faster boot time.

Still closes all your apps but the OS hibernates.

 

 

It's a feature called "Fast startup", and works basically how Hawkman said.

 

Here is some more info, and how to disable it, if you're interested:

http://www.eightforu...indows-8-a.html

 

As long as it isn't causing problems I'm fine with it. I just thought it was odd the systems uptime was continuing to count when it was shutdown. 



#8 OP McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 28 September 2013 - 08:43

The uptime is sporadic, I shutdown as usual last night, I noticed today the uptime has gone down to zero and begun counting again.



#9 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Times a Ticking

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 28 September 2013 - 09:33

Maybe it needs to visit some more adult websites [sorry couldn't resist the urge ] :laugh: :laugh: :D



#10 +GreenMartian

GreenMartian

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 04
  • Location: adelaide, au

Posted 28 September 2013 - 12:21

The uptime is sporadic, I shutdown as usual last night, I noticed today the uptime has gone down to zero and begun counting again.

From what I can remember, the first time your system comes out of a cold boot, windows takes a 'snapshot' of the clean boot.  And every time you shutdown/restart, it would restore the snapshot provided that your core system hasn't changed. When the integrity of this snapshot is compromised (e.g. a system update), windows will need to rebuild the snapshot and will do a cold boot instead.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!