Jump to content



Photo

AMD control center doesn't work after 8.1 install

Answered Go to the full post win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 17 October 2013 - 23:19

After installing Windows 8.1 today, my AMD control center does not work. I uninstalled everything (drivers, etc) in Add/Remove programs and then I ran driver sweeper in safe mode. I then re-installed the AMD drivers/control center again, but the control center still doesn't work. My laptop has the AMD A8-4500M chipset

 

warning.JPG



Best Answer Atomic Wanderer Chicken , 18 October 2013 - 18:29

Thanks everyone for the help, I called AMD, and I ran the AMD utility which downloaded the appropriate/up to date drivers. During the install, C+++ redistribution 2012 was installed which may have fixed the control center not working.

Go to the full post



#2 Steve B.

Steve B.

    Neowinian British One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 12-January 09
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One S

Posted 17 October 2013 - 23:38

Yep, I had this issue with my PC, thought it was something to do with me mucking around with my graphics drivers. I just uninstalled and reinstalled the stock drivers that came with my PC.

 

There may be a different solution for people who self-built. But that's what I have for now.



#3 chrisj1968

chrisj1968

    copyrighted!! ©

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-June 08
  • Location: United States

Posted 18 October 2013 - 00:19

you need to install the 13.9????? WHQL version drivers. seriously, fixed many of the issues on my AMD vision A8 

 

Via 3d Guru http://www.guru3d.co...l_download.html

 

** I'm running the lesser an A8-3520M...



#4 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 18 October 2013 - 01:02

I reinstalled the drivers from Asus's website but the control center doesn't work. Games and videos work fine but the control center just doesn't.



#5 chrisj1968

chrisj1968

    copyrighted!! ©

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-June 08
  • Location: United States

Posted 18 October 2013 - 01:18

I reinstalled the drivers from Asus's website but the control center doesn't work. Games and videos work fine but the control center just doesn't.

try the driver I linked to. it worked flawlessly for me. I couldn't rely on toshiba's drivers. But Guru 3D's worked well. give it a whirl!



#6 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 18 October 2013 - 01:23

try the driver I linked to. it worked flawlessly for me. I couldn't rely on toshiba's drivers. But Guru 3D's worked well. give it a whirl!

Thanks but, I'd really prefer downloading it from AMD's site or Asus's site.



#7 chrisj1968

chrisj1968

    copyrighted!! ©

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-June 08
  • Location: United States

Posted 18 October 2013 - 01:42

Thanks but, I'd really prefer downloading it from AMD's site or Asus's site.

the link is to the official driver from AMD. so it is safe.



#8 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10

Posted 18 October 2013 - 01:43

Make sure to completely remove the driver first before re-installing.

 

No problems to report here.



#9 Neztea

Neztea

    DoN't Be SuCh A pLaYa HatA!

  • Joined: 10-November 01

Posted 18 October 2013 - 02:07

http://support.amd.c...ndows-beta.aspx

 

here are the catalyst 13.11 beta drivers, they should hopefully work for you.

 

Neztea



#10 BoDEAN

BoDEAN

    REDHead

  • Joined: 04-May 04
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Iphone

Posted 18 October 2013 - 02:41

guru3d.com  has your answer



#11 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 18 October 2013 - 18:29   Best Answer

Thanks everyone for the help, I called AMD, and I ran the AMD utility which downloaded the appropriate/up to date drivers. During the install, C+++ redistribution 2012 was installed which may have fixed the control center not working.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!