Jump to content



Photo

Is the show desktop button in Windows 8.1 smaller or is it me?

win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#16 Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 09 November 2013 - 18:49

The new button appears to be broken also, if I use winkey + d to toggle the desktop it correctly remembers which window was active, if I use the button it strangely always uses iTunes as the active Window.




#17 +Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States

Posted 09 November 2013 - 19:03

Really? It seems to be working fine for me. Hmmmm.



#18 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 09 November 2013 - 19:34

Works for me just fine. I'm glad that it doesn't even show the button anymore and it's basically invisible. I can just do Win+D or throw my mouse over there and click without even thinking or seeing the button and it works just fine. :)



#19 Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 10 November 2013 - 22:57

Done some tests only seems to happen if iTunes is running. Perhaps its an iTunes Bug



#20 metallithrax

metallithrax

    I saw you earlier, with the hairy stick....

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 24-May 04
  • Location: Wherever I am at his moment in time.
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Sony Xperia U (android 4.0.4)

Posted 10 November 2013 - 23:10

It is really bugging me because its so darn smaller now and I do use it to show the desktop in many instances.

 

Why would it be a problem though?  You move your cursor to the bottom right corner and click.  Doesn't matter how big the area is as long as your in the bottom right corner.



#21 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 10 November 2013 - 23:14

It does look like it's half the size of the existing one...



#22 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 10 November 2013 - 23:18

its smaller to avoid fat finger accidentally tapping it.



#23 MFH

MFH

    RAII fanatic

  • Joined: 24-June 10

Posted 10 November 2013 - 23:23

its smaller to avoid fat finger accidentally tapping it.

 

That would be a funny reason considering that in Windows 7 "Touch Mode" that button got bigger to allow for better tapping…^^



#24 Ian William

Ian William

    I work great with Windows Vista!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 01-March 13
  • OS: Windows Vista

Posted 11 November 2013 - 00:07

its smaller to avoid fat finger accidentally tapping it.

Isn't that in stark contrast with the Windows 8 design goals?
 

That would be a funny reason considering that in Windows 7 "Touch Mode" that button got bigger to allow for better tapping…^^

Yes. The button's horizontal length increases by 9 pixels.
 

cvmr.png
Windows 7 Show Desktop button (normal)

CmPpKVd.png
Windows 7 Show Desktop button (large)
 



#25 +Preppy

Preppy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-December 03
  • Location: Seattle

Posted 13 November 2013 - 01:14

Its noticeably smaller than in Windows 8. I remember the button slightly bigger in Windows 8.  Its irking me a lot.

IIRC, this changed in Windows 8 and hasn't directly changed since.  It's a pretty underutilized aspect of the system, so keeping the functionality while giving people back some precious screen space seems like a useful and valuable change. :)



#26 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 13 November 2013 - 01:22

TBH, I don't even know anyone who uses it. ALT-TAB still reigns supreme where I am. 



#27 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 13 November 2013 - 01:23

Why would it be a problem though?  You move your cursor to the bottom right corner and click.  Doesn't matter how big the area is as long as your in the bottom right corner.


Yeah I don't get it either, you don't even have to look at the corner, just move your mouse there and click.

#28 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 13 November 2013 - 03:20

TBH, I don't even know anyone who uses it. ALT-TAB still reigns supreme where I am.

ugh, moving your hand back-and-forth between touchscreen & keyboard is pain, utterly unergonomics.

#29 Stoffel

Stoffel

    Being on the ocean is cooler then being in front of a Computer

  • Joined: 16-August 11
  • Location: Utila, Honduras
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro

Posted 13 November 2013 - 04:12

ugh, moving your hand back-and-forth between touchscreen & keyboard is pain, utterly unergonomics.

 

Why do you need to move your hand to your screen to use ALT-TAB?

Most of us just use the KB

 

Oops read that wrong, never mind



#30 Dick99999

Dick99999

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 19-April 14

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:31

Just installed 8.1 update 1 and the show desktop button area of the task bar seems to be off screen, I have my task bar on the left side of the screen (vertical). The bottom part shows 2/3 of the date, so the show desktop area is not displayed at all. Worse if I move the mouse to the bottom corner, I get the tiles. (using surface pro 2)