Jump to content



Photo

Neowin needs a "thread already exists" warning system

request

  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 17 November 2013 - 18:36

I don't know how many times I posted something and then get it locked because someone else has posted the same thing within hours before. Neowin needs a system that tells a poster that a similar thread was already posted. First off, the search on Neowin doesn't work entirely well, I have searched for similar threads but it didn't find any, and later I find my thread  locked.
Here is how the system would work.

 

Please don't sarcastically tell me that we already have this and its called search, that doesn't pertain to this. I use the search and it doesn't effectively find posts a majority of the time.  I have to go in manually in to forum sections to find a similar thread.
 
1. A member creates a post.

2. Then the members hits post topic.

3. A red warning box appears and says "Sorry, post already exists"

This would save members a whole lot of trouble and would prevent locked threads. 




#2 Semtex

Semtex

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • Location: Europa/Poland

Posted 17 November 2013 - 18:38

Mehhh, we have Mods, they also need some work :rofl:



#3 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 17 November 2013 - 18:44

Craigslist had (or still has) something like this and it prevented people from posting a similar for sale ads.



#4 Barney T.

Barney T.

    Debian Linux: I'm Loving It!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location: Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 17 November 2013 - 19:03

Mehhh, we have Mods, they also need some work :rofl:

 

:no:



#5 +LimeMaster

LimeMaster

    LippyZillaD Council ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 17 November 2013 - 19:07

That sounds kinda complex. I don't think this feature would be easy to implement.



#6 Semtex

Semtex

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • Location: Europa/Poland

Posted 17 November 2013 - 19:13

:no:

As a disclaimer, I'm also Mod on one of biggest Polish IT forums, so I know this pain ;)



#7 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 17 November 2013 - 19:14

I don't think they particularly like going around and closing threads though.

Mehhh, we have Mods, they also need some work :rofl:



#8 Brandon C.

Brandon C.

    [REDACTED]

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-January 05
  • Location: [REDACTED]
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 17 November 2013 - 19:18

You could probably take a minute or so before posting and search just in case someone else has posted it.



#9 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 17 November 2013 - 19:36

You could probably take a minute or so before posting and search just in case someone else has posted it.

that's part of the point that he's trying to make though. at the end of his first paragraph he mentions that

 

the problem is the similar thread could be buried a few pages back or not be in an expected forum section.

 

and the search function isn't always very reliable on IPB (especially when you're trying to search threads that have numbers in them as the search won't allow words with less than 3 characters. aka you can't put numbers)



#10 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 17 November 2013 - 19:39

I do use the search but it doesn't find what I'm looking for most of the time, so I have use manually search the real world news sections for instance. I usually find the post I'm looking for by manually searching,



#11 jakem1

jakem1

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-November 06

Posted 17 November 2013 - 19:49

Original thread: PS4 sells through 1 million in N.A. in 24hrs

Duplicate thread: 1 Million PS4s sold in first 24 Hours

 

It shouldn't have been too difficult to find the original thread in a search.



#12 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 17 November 2013 - 19:52

The original is the first result for ps4 million

#13 Doli

Doli

    Goo ball

  • Joined: 28-October 04
  • Location: Tower of Goo Memorial Park and Recreation Center

Posted 17 November 2013 - 20:04

Original thread: PS4 sells through 1 million in N.A. in 24hrs

Duplicate thread: 1 Million PS4s sold in first 24 Hours

 

It shouldn't have been too difficult to find the original thread in a search.

 

(Y)

Looks like he used searched "This Forum" in Back Page news instead of searching in the Sony sub forum in Gamer's Hangout. There is also an option on the search button to change "This Forum" to "Forums" and that will search all the forums.



#14 Gerowen

Gerowen

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-August 05
  • Location: Hills of Kentucky
  • OS: Ubuntu Linux

Posted 17 November 2013 - 20:22

I've actually seen this on some other forums.  When you post something, it scans for keywords, performs a quick search, and if another topic closely fits the keywords, it will give you a warning page that says something like, "There may already be a discussion on this topic, please check the list below and if your topic is still new, you can continue by clicking Post".  The "list below" would be a handful of topics with similar keywords.



#15 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 17 November 2013 - 20:33

^ It's actually not a bad suggestion at all, only probably involves hammering of servers more than user's search alone would do.