Jump to content



Photo

Wifi and 8.1.

Answered Go to the full post win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 13:02

So I had my computer off. It's a desktop. I turned it on this morning. Wifi cuts out after so many mins.

It works then all of a sudden nothing website related loads. The loading symbols just load. Does it in every browser.

I restarted my modem and router. Didn't fix it. Internet works on my iPhone and iPad.

What is doing this?


Edit:

Steam still works. Hmm

 

 

Edit:

Looks like Norton randomly decided the smart firewall should block all web browsers.  I have to turn it off in order to use web browsers. I change the settings and it doesn't help.



Best Answer Roger H. , 29 January 2014 - 15:02

Not supposed to be but here's my solution:

 

Remove Norton, na0!

Go to the full post



#2 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 29 January 2014 - 15:02   Best Answer

Not supposed to be but here's my solution:

 

Remove Norton, na0!



#3 OP Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 29 January 2014 - 15:50

Not supposed to be but here's my solution:

 

Remove Norton, na0!

Indeed.

 

Also, I thought this was a Windows 8.1 issue, but then after posting found out it was norton, So I don't know if you want to move this topic. 

 

 

Norton came with my PC, so it's good for another year.  Blah.  



#4 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 29 January 2014 - 22:50

No matter how you slice it, even free piece of sh** is still not worth it.

 

If you don't believe that's true, I have some I can sell you for the low price of $19.99, but wait, if you order in the next 10mins, i'll double the order and throw in FREE SHIPPING!

 

:rofl:



#5 flynempire

flynempire

    It's called the bat and yes Mr. Wayne it comes in black :)

  • Joined: 19-January 10
  • Location: Sunny - Miami, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro SP-1, Windows 8.1 (RT) Android 4.1.2, 2.3.6, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Exhibit (Latest Model)

Posted 30 January 2014 - 14:52

I use Norton and cannot complain really. It is to bad you are having this issue.
 

I must say that even though I have a 3 year subscription I took it off for 2 months because I noticed the 2013 version was causing slow down and I also had a similar issue like you.

I then upgrade to 2014 for no additional cost and everything is back fine. I have liked Norton NIS since 2010 version but I have noticed once in awhile on my system or others that the firewall can block even the smallest of things for no reason. They need to have that fixed but other than this I am OK with the software. It is much better than the way it was from 2009 and back.


No matter how you slice it, even free piece of sh** is still not worth it.

 

If you don't believe that's true, I have some I can sell you for the low price of $19.99, but wait, if you order in the next 10mins, i'll double the order and throw in FREE SHIPPING!

 

:rofl:

 

Lumpy or soft? :woot:



#6 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 30 January 2014 - 14:56

I use Norton and cannot complain really. It is to bad you are having this issue.
 

I must say that even though I have a 3 year subscription I took it off for 2 months because I noticed the 2013 version was causing slow down and I also had a similar issue like you.

I then upgrade to 2014 for no additional cost and everything is back fine. I have liked Norton NIS since 2010 version but I have noticed once in awhile on my system or others that the firewall can block even the smallest of things for no reason. They need to have that fixed but other than this I am OK with the software. It is much better than the way it was from 2009 and back.


 

Lumpy or soft? :woot:

 

 

The consumer versions of Norton and Symantec are utter crap, you're almost better off with no protection



#7 flynempire

flynempire

    It's called the bat and yes Mr. Wayne it comes in black :)

  • Joined: 19-January 10
  • Location: Sunny - Miami, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro SP-1, Windows 8.1 (RT) Android 4.1.2, 2.3.6, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Exhibit (Latest Model)

Posted 30 January 2014 - 15:21

I do not agree with that but to each his own.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!