Jump to content



Photo
win7

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 drugo

drugo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 05

Posted 08 June 2014 - 15:58

hi

 

on my desktop i have windows 7 sp1 64bit installed

 

my laptop came with windows 8.1 64 pro pre-installed

 

i really like w8.1 wheater app

 

is there a similar program or a website (i live in europe) for windows 7 ?

 

thanks in advance

 




#2 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 08 June 2014 - 16:04

Go to the any weather website of your choice and look for the app for Windows 7.

 

The apps that are made for Windows 8 won't work on Windows 7. Unless you get stand alone app like Windows 7 apps on their website.

 

For example: http://weather.weath...pplication.html ... this works on Windows 7.



#3 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows, BSD Unix, Occasionally OSX or Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 08 June 2014 - 16:10

Depends on your needs of course, for me I just want a forecast, radar and severe alerts (tornado season, yay), just been using ForecastFox in Firefox, didn't need another program running as I have a browser open all the time anyway. It'll toss alerts when they come up, hover for maps/forecast/etc.

forecastfo.png



#4 +dsbig

dsbig

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-April 09

Posted 08 June 2014 - 16:14

if you have google chrome browser installed . you can add the weatherbug app and use the chrome app launcher...



#5 Rohdekill

Rohdekill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 05
  • Location: Earth

Posted 08 June 2014 - 17:03

 why not just save the link (for your zip code area) of a weather website and place it on your desktop?

 

An application, consuming hdd space and God knows what else they install along with it just to see the forecast, doesn't make sense to me.  But, to each their own.



#6 OP drugo

drugo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 05

Posted 09 June 2014 - 04:36

 
 

if you have google chrome browser installed . you can add the weatherbug app and use the chrome app launcher...

hi thanks

sadly i don't use it

i use opera 20x and firefox last version

 

 why not just save the link (for your zip code area) of a weather website and place it on your desktop?

 

An application, consuming hdd space and God knows what else they install along with it just to see the forecast, doesn't make sense to me.  But, to each their own.

 

hi , do you know i tried to find a website like  wunder ground (it looks good like w8.1 weather app) but it doesn't work perfectly in my zone , europe , north italy

 

thanks
 



#7 OP drugo

drugo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 05

Posted 09 June 2014 - 04:41

 
 

 

Go to the any weather website of your choice and look for the app for Windows 7.

 

The apps that are made for Windows 8 won't work on Windows 7. Unless you get stand alone app like Windows 7 apps on their website.

 

For example: http://weather.weath...pplication.html ... this works on Windows 7.

Hi

thanks

does it work great for europe?

 

Depends on your needs of course, for me I just want a forecast, radar and severe alerts (tornado season, yay), just been using ForecastFox in Firefox, didn't need another program running as I have a browser open all the time anyway. It'll toss alerts when they come up, hover for maps/forecast/etc.

forecastfo.png

hi

sadly  it's not avaible for firefox 29

ynee76Y.png

 

 


#8 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows, BSD Unix, Occasionally OSX or Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 09 June 2014 - 11:26

sadly  it's not avaible for firefox 29

There's a newer build that's not listed on the Firefox site yet that is compatible, I'm using 29.0.1 myself. Note you'll need an addon that restores addon-bar functionality (Australis removed it) such as Classic Theme Restorer, The Addon Bar, etc, whichever one suits your needs better.
https://static.getfo...tfox-latest.xpi

Completely different direction, there's always RainMeter too if you prefer it on the desktop itself. Stupidly flexible, looks great, make it as simple or complex as you want, if you're into the metering thing. Just for some ideas of what you can do with it:
http://www.deviantar...der=9&q=weather

#9 Xahid

Xahid

    Anokha Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-November 01
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Posted 09 June 2014 - 11:36

you might like this ?

HTC weather

 

scrn6.jpg



#10 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 09 June 2014 - 13:35

 

 

Hi

thanks

does it work great for europe?

 

Yes it does.  It works anywhere no matter where you are.

 

The weather services have all the countries available for their users in their apps.



#11 OP drugo

drugo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 05

Posted 09 June 2014 - 15:01

 
 

 

There's a newer build that's not listed on the Firefox site yet that is compatible, I'm using 29.0.1 myself. Note you'll need an addon that restores addon-bar functionality (Australis removed it) such as Classic Theme Restorer, The Addon Bar, etc, whichever one suits your needs better.
https://static.getfo...tfox-latest.xpi

Completely different direction, there's always RainMeter too if you prefer it on the desktop itself. Stupidly flexible, looks great, make it as simple or complex as you want, if you're into the metering thing. Just for some ideas of what you can do with it:
http://www.deviantar...der=9&q=weather

 

hi

thanks

i installed it

when i click on the radar icon ,can i  change to display satellite view like w8.1 weather meteo?

 


 
 

 

 

you might like this ?

HTC weather

 

scrn6.jpg

 

really very cool

looks even portable :)

 

thanks a lot!

 



#12 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows, BSD Unix, Occasionally OSX or Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 09 June 2014 - 15:31

when i click on the radar icon ,can i  change to display satellite view like w8.1 weather meteo?

It's not a built in option, but if you go to the options page, you can specify your own image URL, so you can toss in whatever image you want from any source.  It's nowhere near as fancy as a full-blown weather program, but for something that just sits in a browser toolbar.. *shrug* it works for me.

 

forecanmn.png

 

If you want a lot more flexibility, you're probably better off with a different option. I used to run RainMeter on my old XP and Vista desktops back when I was into that sort of thing, among other things I had it pulling radar/satellite images, scraping NOAA alert feeds, etc.  That HTC one is kind of cute, but be careful with the installer, a lot of crapware bundled with it.



#13 OP drugo

drugo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 05

Posted 10 June 2014 - 04:22

 
 

 

It's not a built in option, but if you go to the options page, you can specify your own image URL, so you can toss in whatever image you want from any source.  It's nowhere near as fancy as a full-blown weather program, but for something that just sits in a browser toolbar.. *shrug* it works for me.

 

forecanmn.png

 

If you want a lot more flexibility, you're probably better off with a different option. I used to run RainMeter on my old XP and Vista desktops back when I was into that sort of thing, among other things I had it pulling radar/satellite images, scraping NOAA alert feeds, etc.  That HTC one is kind of cute, but be careful with the installer, a lot of crapware bundled with it.

thanks a lot!



#14 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 10 June 2014 - 04:27

Rainmeter had a nice weather app the last time i checked. It was a long time ago ...