Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 VPN Issue

win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 M_Lyons10

M_Lyons10

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-October 08
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted 26 June 2014 - 12:42

Hi everyone.  I have set up multiple computers to use our network and our VPN connection without any issues whatsoever.

 

We recently purchased a new computer, and upon setting it up, the server did not require a login in order to access the shared folders (Which is bizarre.  I chalked this up to the PC Login being the same as the machine it was replacing.  I've brought in other machines and they are all requiring a login.  No changes have been made to the server.)

 

Now, this computer functions perfectly fine locally, but when it connects over VPN it cannot connect to the Server or see it...

 

I realize this question is very broad, but I wanted to ask if anyone had any suggestions or thoughts as to what may be occuring here and how it might be fixed.  Or suggestions for trouble shooting this further.

 

Thanks, any help is greatly appreciated.




#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 26 June 2014 - 12:59

What does require a login mean exactly? Are they machines not members of a domain? You would login to the domain, and have access to shares that your domain account has been given access to - you shouldn't have to auth again.

What OS id your server running? What OS version are these other machines running exactly - so your not running AD?

What are you using for VPN?

#3 OP M_Lyons10

M_Lyons10

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-October 08
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted 27 June 2014 - 15:33

Thanks for  your response.

 

Our Server is running Windows Server 2003.  Generally, a new computer connects to the router, then when clicking on the Server, a login is required before the new computer is granted access.  A new user is created on the server, and everything works great.  This has been the case for every machine that I have set up.  This login is stored and when connecting over VPN the connection to the server will be restored and access will be available.

 

With this computer, I did not have to login to the Server in order to gain access.  I am assuming that is because the login the new pc used is the same as the old computer.  Which is fine, but illogical as the new pc wouldn't know that login information until a connection with the server was attempted.

 

The VPN is SSL.  Works flawlessly with all of the other pc's, and setup in the past has been simple.  In fact, in this case, the VPN connection was set up with similar ease, and it is able to connect to the router without any issue at all.  I am able to connect to the router's control panel from VPN as well.  What I am not able to do, and the ONLY thing I am not able to do, is connect to or access any data that is on the Server over VPN.  I can't even see the Server (Which I should be able to do if this was the login issue I believed it to be above). 

 

Thanks for your help.



#4 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 36
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 27 June 2014 - 15:57

OK, there may be an issue with whatever vpn client that you are using.  Have you checked the windows firewall either on your device or the server (you can disable it for the time being for ease of troubleshooting to make sure it isn't conflicting with it).  Can you up the diagnostic logging to see what the issue is?  It almost sounds like a firewall or a route issue, but that isn't the only thing that can stop you.  You can check the routes on your computer by typing in route print in a command prompt to verify it has the right pathing. 



#5 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 06 July 2014 - 15:25

When you actually give some info to work with, more than happy to help you.

So are you using AD or not, is the box a member of the domain - has it joined the AD. Your server running 2003 doesn't answer the AD question, and only shows that your running really really old ###### ;)

Your vpn is ssl, supper - so like openvpn, juniper, cisco anyconnect some proprietary thing with whatever router you have?

So are these clients 8.0, 8.1 are they pro or not - still don't know if these are domain member machines or not?

Here is the thing. If user account is billy, and password is Password1 - you can get access no matter what the machine - unless your on an actual domain using SIDs.. So your going to need to give some actual useful details if you want help.

Sorry but this is pretty much gibberish
"Generally, a new computer connects to the router, then when clicking on the Server, a login is required before the new computer is granted access."

What is the user connecting to - a wire, wireless, vpn (what vpn software - what router?) Clicking on what server something in their browselist? Where are they clicking on this "server"?

Sorry to be blunt but you have not given one piece of info that is of use and no where closer to understanding your issue than your first post - sorry.