Jump to content



Photo

Microsoft Security Essentials 1.0.1963.0


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 lalalawawawa

lalalawawawa

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,345 posts
  • Joined: 20-June 08

Posted 29 June 2010 - 02:27

Microsoft Security Essentials has been updated to version 1.0.1963.0. You can download it from here:

http://www.microsoft...32-33d813687a7f


#2 mancode20

mancode20

    Neowinian

  • 885 posts
  • Joined: 17-December 03

Posted 29 June 2010 - 02:35

Please tell me they FINALLY fixed the most annoying bug, which is the bug where the icons to programs load ridiculously slow when exploring files! If they haven't patched this yet, what are they waiting for? They better fix it!! It's maybe the only issue from it being one of the best, near perfect anti-virus programs.

#3 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 27,230 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 29 June 2010 - 02:37

Hopefully it doesn't have its CPU hog moments anymore.

#4 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • 12,985 posts
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 29 June 2010 - 02:37

I've noticed a bit of slowdown with this. NOD32 never had that issue. Bit of work to do, but hey, if it's free...

#5 mancode20

mancode20

    Neowinian

  • 885 posts
  • Joined: 17-December 03

Posted 29 June 2010 - 02:43

Anyone have release notes? I want to know what is new.

#6 Tech Star

Tech Star

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,553 posts
  • Joined: 24-November 04
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 29 June 2010 - 02:49

Please tell me they FINALLY fixed the most annoying bug, which is the bug where the icons to programs load ridiculously slow when exploring files! If they haven't patched this yet, what are they waiting for? They better fix it!! It's maybe the only issue from it being one of the best, near perfect anti-virus programs.


Anyone confirm? I disabled MSE just because of that.

#7 Shayla

Shayla

    This Account Has Been Hacked and Banned by Neowin

  • 1,818 posts
  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Baros Maldives

Posted 29 June 2010 - 02:53

I got it through WU just now (KB972696)

#8 bjoswald

bjoswald

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,763 posts
  • Joined: 14-January 08
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
  • Phone: HTC Aria

Posted 29 June 2010 - 03:20

I just got it from within the program. No clue what it does but updates are always welcome. :)

#9 Another Canuck

Another Canuck

    David

  • 956 posts
  • Joined: 24-October 06
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 29 June 2010 - 05:48

Official "release notes" from the Ongoing Beta newsgroups...

"This version of the Microsoft Security Essentials [...]
contains some enhancements and compatibility fixes to facilitate a
seamless upgrade experience to future versions of Microsoft Security
Essentials."

Though as far as I'm aware, an updated engine was recently released as well, of which users are reporting much faster scan times.

Anyone confirm? I disabled MSE just because of that.


If you need confirmation, it means you've never noticed it or are not affected by it, which means you don't need to disable it.

Personally I've never encountered this issue. :)

#10 Singh400

Singh400

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,839 posts
  • Joined: 02-February 10

Posted 29 June 2010 - 07:28

Yeah MSE upgraded itself last night.

Hopefully it doesn't have its CPU hog moments anymore.

Never had them for me.

#11 hagjohn

hagjohn

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,187 posts
  • Joined: 20-July 03
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Yellow 1020 w/ 8.1

Posted 29 June 2010 - 11:27

Hmm.. I wasn't able to upload via downloaded file or by WU. I had to remove the old version first.

#12 amon91

amon91

    Anonymous

  • 2,767 posts
  • Joined: 26-December 09

Posted 29 June 2010 - 11:39

Noticed no changes as of yet but the process was seamless. Never had an issue whatsoever since it was released, so I'm not really expecting anything to be fixed. :p

#13 +Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • 36,611 posts
  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 29 June 2010 - 12:51

Update button popped up earlier today.

#14 Sulphy

Sulphy

    Sulphurious

  • 6,451 posts
  • Joined: 17-November 09
  • Location: Northampton
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Android - HTC ONE M8

Posted 29 June 2010 - 13:19

ah.....finally update via windows update works! :)

#15 Salty Wagyu

Salty Wagyu

    moo

  • 1,505 posts
  • Joined: 04-April 08
  • Location: ConDem Nation

Posted 29 June 2010 - 13:41

Updating now, going to see if these three still exist:

Slow loading of icons (typically a single folder full of 15+ shortcuts pointing to programs scattered across a hard disk works best)
Steals focus of the window you're working on when it performs its auto-update from the tray - which shouldn't happen.
Windows Update notifications daily of a virus definition update - which should be in the background as we don't need to be told of this. (the workaround was to untick Recommended Updates in the WU settings)