What should I pick more RAM, quad core upgrade or SSD drive?

I can only pick one and not sure which one I should pick. I will be upgrading and using my computer for photo editing and some video editing but nothing too heavy. Also I am a programming student. The RAM is the cheapest of all three of them and the SSD drive the most expensive but it will provide the most speed. Not sure what to do at this point. Hopes someone here can help me out with this. Thank you.

JC

What are the current specs of your machine, those would help when advising you what to upgrade?

• Like 1

Since you need your computer for video editing, a SSD doesn't sound like a good option considering the cost per MB, of course, you can always have the SSD as your main drive for Windows and some applications and a secondary drive for your work; RAM is always welcome, especially if you have 4GB or less. The CPU, it would be good to know your current specs and see if it's worthy the upgrade, and decide what kind of CPU you can use because you might need to upgrade your motherboard and/or RAM in order to be able to use the latest CPU models

• Like 1

RAM will be the limiting factor in editing any HD video and large picture editing, I'd go for 16 GB (Assuming that you are running a 64bit OS). SSD's are nice for general use but not massively important in your case. Quad core would of course boost video/photoshop times, possibly programming too (not sure how demanding your projects are). RAM would be my choice, 2nd CPU, third SSD.

I have a HP Paviliion model p6350z computer. I have a Athlon X2 dual core 64 bit processor running at 2.9 ghz. I have 8 gigs of DDR3 RAM. I am currently running Windows 7 64 bit OS. I have a 500 GB 7200 RPM hard drive. I have a ATI Radeon HD 4200 integrated graphics chip. I think my graphics chip is the weakest component in my computer specs.

The programs I usually mostly are in no particular order: