[iPad] Just bought an iPad 2... Now what?

I just bought an iPad 2. I bought it for web surfing and to read books, watch movies, and otherwise consume content :p.

A couple questions:

-- What's the best eReader app?

-- For movies, how can I watch them? Do I have to buy them from the iTunes store?

-- What (non-game!) apps do you recommend?

Personally I use iBooks for my reading and that does the job fine.

For movies I use AV Player HD, so far has played everything I have thrown at it and does nicely, you don't HAVE to buy them via iTunes

What kind of apps do you want? for productivity something like cloudon or office2 for drawing i quite like bamboo notebook

lots of good apps out there and a lot of them free

I have a yearly subscription to Wired Magazine on my iPad. It's very good. I also use the Twitter app and Paper. I also use a lot of video apps for example I use TED, BBC iPlayer, 40D Catchup. I use Air Video to access videos from my home server on my iPad. The server side Air Video software converts any video on your server to h.264 MP4 on the fly so you can instantly stream any format to your iPad unimpeded. I like using the Apple Remote app (free) which lets you control iTunes on another computer.

I know you didn't want a suggestion for a game but I have to recommend Osmos - It's an amazing game.

• Like 1

I use the Kindle App as I find the books to be cheaper in most cases, latest update also improved the UI a lot!

For films I convert all other formats to M4V using Handbrake on my Mac... though AV Player HD is good.

I use the Microsoft OneNote app alot

Vevo HD

Netflix

TED

Flipboard for news

Hope this helps!