Idea to improve PS4 wireless

Go to solution Solved by BudMan,

Question

Brandon H

I would like to be able to use remote play effectively on my PS4 but i'm not able to hardwire it to my router. the PS4 wireless really is not that great. so i had an idea and was wondering if it was worth it to spend a bit of money and bring this idea together.

as I have an AC router I was thinking of getting a decent WiFi extender such as this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122590 and then plugging my PS4 into it with an ethernet cord.

would this be a viable solution or do you guys have any better ideas? that extender is pretty fairly priced and has good reviews. i'll probably pick it up if you guys think it's worth it. i've never worked with an extender before so was hoping for some opinions

7 answers to this question

+BudMan

If that device can be used as bridge then sure - its still only 2x2

Where does it say it can be a bridge?

• Two WiFi Modes
    Repeater mode to boost existing WiFi. Access Point mode to create new AC WiFi access.

What is your internet speed?  That powerline here shows http://www.avforums.com/review/tp-link-tl-pa6010kit-powerline-adaptor-review.9349 it could do 170Mbps down and 158Mps up

While your router shows only
    post-14624-0-22433900-1400804550.jpg

Your PS4 is only 2x2 2.4 N, even with 40mhz channels max you could do is 300 RAW total, that is if your using 400ns guard internal - if your mixed with G that is not going to happen.  So more like 270 RAW max.. Now I don't know what your internet speed is..  Keep in mind that is RAW, do a /2 to put you more in the ball park at the BEST..  Is it over 100mbps?  I still say you will have more bandwidth, less issues and more stable with wired connection - ie the powerlines.  Keep in mind while your playing games do you have other wireless sharing your bandwidth?