How to copy VMs and add folders in Hyper-V

Go to solution Solved by The_Observer,

Question

sinetheo

I am studying for my MCSE and I am new to Hyper-V as I used VMWare Workstation for years previous for web development and self study.

I have a few questions?

In VMWare Workstation I could create folders in the Virtual Machines List so I could have Base Images, Domain A, bla.com, etc. What I would do is copy a virtual hard disk from the Base Images folder to another another and create another VM and link it to the VM. Viola I know copied the base Server2008 base image to A-DC1 domain controller etc.

Hyper V is confusing as I am trying to do the same. I tried export VM and then import VM and all it did was create 3 virtual machines?? One during the export and re-importing it forked it again as the virtual disk needed to be a different ID if correct? Also it gave it the same name. I want not only a different VM name, but also folder, disk, etc so I do not get confused

My question is how do I:

1. Create a folder in the Virtual Machines list as I have a ton of base images and plan to create several domains that can get large as I add more services in my lab

2. Copy or easily import/export a VM for my existing base images and have them appear in my virtual machines list without 3 different variations.

I figured I am just doing something wrong

8 answers to this question

The_Observer

A question?

Can I use the same copied virtual hard disks between different VM's or do I have to link to a read-only parent and set a diff for each VM to do this? 

Each VM would use the same Parent Read Only VHD file and each VM would create a new VHD with new data. You cant copy the and VM hard drive without Sysprep cause WIndows Server SSID (i think that is correct)

• Like 1
The_Observer

Cant create folders on Hyper-V Manager Tool (I know sucks!) - Just have to name them correctly