Question: I want to use cortana for a voice command idea

I am thrilled with Windows 10, I'm on the Home version, I like it, it does what I need. What I'm looking for is some of the brightest talent around here on neowin.

Project name: Cortana blitzkrieg (no big deal, just an idea I have)

to put it simply, it seems that Cortana has a lot more functionality than most would believe or understand. my question is, how can one, if possible, code Cortana to shutdown my laptop with my voice command? Simply put, I'd like to simply say, "Cortana, shutdown laptop/PC". is there a way to work with Cortana to do this, or does something like it already exist?

thanks in the meantime.

Chrisj1968

• 2 weeks later...

I am not aware of this capability being part of Cortana, but I must admit that I am unfamiliar as I have limited experience with her. However, the ability to shutdown one's computer via speech predates Cortana. This is one of the benefits of Windows Speech Recognition (WSR) introduced in Windows Vista. You will, however, need to download the speech recognition macros utility to enable this functionality. It is recommended that one reads the release notes for speech recognition macros and trains the recognizer before proceeding with installation of the macros utility. It is best that the recognizer gets accustomed to aspects of one's voice such as an accent or speech patterns.

Once downloaded and installed, open the macros utility by searching for it from the Start menu or by navigating to C:\Program Files\WSRMacros\WSRMacros.exe. After the macros utility is open, create a new macro by double-clicking on the utility's icon present in the notification area—note that this icon is visually similar to a speech bubble and includes two gearwheels near the center. In the screenshot of the taskbar posted below, it is the fourth icon away from the clock.
Icon.thumb.png.a6e205aba42cd0f7c2ae68331 WSRM_Icon.thumb.png.4ddaa30d334c2322c9df