Best way to design a web site?

Question

This may be a very general topic, but I have no experience with web design. I have Adobe CC 2015 with Dreamweaver so I can use that. I have messed with it and I am really not very good with it yet. Is there better software for beginners? I want to design a very simple web site for my business that just has basic information pages and a price sheet.

I am very versed in Illustrator. Is it feasible for me to create web page designs in Illustrator and then just extract the elements and place them in the web design software to recreate it?

When it comes to web stuff, every player that matters is on GitHub - they could just rename it JavascriptHub (I jest, lot of other stuff there)

So poke around and use the search. Because if anything really weird like an Illustrator to HTML converter exists somebody will have uploaded it to GitHub. Also search SVG to HTML since you can save your work as an SVG and SVG is "cool" to the Web Hipsters...(hint: Adobe is "not cool")

You might want to look into static site generators which is a trendy way to bypass the hassle of server side dynamic sites.

You can also search on the terms "boilerplate" and "bootstrap" where a lot of people have put some effort into making packages of all the tech you need to hit the ground running fast and these starter kits range from beginner to advanced.

The super trendy tech right now is Facebook React so take at look at bootstraps that include that...

The design itself can be made in any program, photoshop, illustrator, gimp etc.
The actual implementation has to be in steps:

1. Write html for the content, menubar etc. Just plain html tags
  2. Start matching the background and big details to your design with css
  3. Workout the small details in css
  4. Use javascript when necessary

Start with a simple editor like notepad++, don't use a tool like dreamweaver, it only makes it more complex and harder to understand.