new to ubuntu - can't install any applications

Hi,

Picked up a PC for free with no HDD, so I bought a cheap HDD on eBay and installed Ubuntu 16.

I can't seem to install anything on it.  I've tried installing a few apps from the built in "Ubuntu Software" thingy, as well as Steam and Folding At Home (F@H).

I open the .deb files and click "Install."  It looks like something is happening... then nothing.  Any ideas?

I've had problems with the 16.04 LTS, I had to revert to the 15.04 version.

Did you download the 32bit or 64bit?

Have you tried running the install through command line?

64 bit; it's installed on an Intel quad core processor.

Yes, tried the command line.  It asked for my password (which is more than double clicking the .deb got me), but then nothing.

I did a fresh install, so I'm not sure I can revert to 15... is that possible?  

I really just wanted to install Ubuntu to learn Linux, as I've never used it before.  

17 minutes ago, crazzy88ss said:

64 bit; it's installed on an Intel quad core processor.

Yes, tried the command line.  It asked for my password (which is more than double clicking the .deb got me), but then nothing.

I did a fresh install, so I'm not sure I can revert to 15... is that possible?  

I really just wanted to install Ubuntu to learn Linux, as I've never used it before.  

Personally, I'd avoid Ubuntu then. It's a great OS, however it has "some" uniqueness to it that others don't have.

Debian/Mint are good alternatives, and CentOS is another that's good to learn. Debian/RPM Packages.

4 hours ago, BinaryData said:

Personally, I'd avoid Ubuntu then. It's a great OS, however it has "some" uniqueness to it that others don't have.

Debian/Mint are good alternatives, and CentOS is another that's good to learn. Debian/RPM Packages.

Personally,

I'd avoid that bloatware Ubuntu to the max also and go with Debian!