VPN-lite idea to thwart ISP snooping

Here's a VPN idea I've been toying with, hoping to get some expert opinions.

ISP's seem to be getting more aggressive with snooping, up to and including injecting messages into http streams. (Thanks Cox!)  The best solution, is obviously to just use a VPN, but things like Netflix and https, are already encrypted, piping them through the VPN is a bit wasteful and slow.

So, I'm wondering if we could use a router with IPTables and OpenVPN to route port 80 and 53 over the VPN, and leave everything else as-is.

I'm by no means an expert with either of those, so does anyone know if this is feasible?

Eventually at one point it becomes decrypted and one isp gets to know the traffic.

Split vpn will split the traffic based on destination but I have not seen one that splits it based on protocol.

Install Chrome plugin HTTPS_Everywhere

https-everywhere-banner.thumb.png.2593d07395ce6ca4ac369363aae44a06.png

54 minutes ago, Marujan said:

https-everywhere-banner.thumb.png.2593d07395ce6ca4ac369363aae44a06.png

Doesn't do diddly if the site doesn't have an ssl attached. 

2 hours ago, sc302 said:

Eventually at one point it becomes decrypted and one isp gets to know the traffic.

Split vpn will split the traffic based on destination but I have not seen one that splits it based on protocol.

The VPN company says they don't care about my http traffic, I'll believe them for now. My ISP does care, they're busy doing things they shouldn't be with it, like injecting messages.

I'm wondering if a proxy server is the best solution.  

2 hours ago, Marujan said:

Not really the solution I need, but a good plugin none the less.

Clear your cache and keep it clear. Use a specific browser and use its stealth mode mixed with no script and ad block.  Are you still getting what you are considering isp injections?