Advice for a new AC router

jamester64    12

I had been using a NETGEAR  AC1750 router for the last 4 yrs and a Lynksys wrt54G before that without problems until it died the other day.

I'm looking for suggestions for a good router with a $200 budget that would be future proof for the next 3-4 yrs

I have an eye on a TP-Link AC5400  but have no experience with TP-Link

I also have about a dozen wireless devices and a few wired that would connect, only a few being used at a time .

TIA

RottGutt    68

I love my Synology RT2600ac. It is easily the best router I have ever owned, and like most everyone here, I have owned many different brands over the years.

https://www.synology.com/en-us/products/RT2600ac

Looks like it can be purchased at Amazon.com for your exact price point:

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=rt2600ac

Tim

• Like 1

Mindovermaster    987

I like my ASUS RT-N66R. I had alot in my past, too. Linksys, Netgear, D-Link, Amped.

Circaflex    3,134

Is your budget, $200 US dollars? I will never recommend a consumer device again, they are pure junk. Every, single, one of them.

I would recommend this setup:

ER-X($50): https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-Networks-ER-X-Router/dp/B0144R449W/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1511731347&sr=8-2&keywords=edgerouter-x

in conjunction with this access point (for the wireless signal)

UAP-AC-PRO ($140): https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-Networks-802-11ac-Dual-Radio-UAP-AC-PRO-US/dp/B015PRO512/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1511731383&sr=8-3&keywords=UAP-AC-Pro

This configuration will blow away anything that you can buy off the shelf, sold as a "home" router.

• Like 4

xendrome    4,668

AmpliFi HD Mesh is by Ubiquiti and it's consumer, works amazing.

• Like 1

jamester64    12

Yes  $200 US dollars

Thanks for your suggestion

Circaflex    3,134
1 minute ago, xendrome said:

AmpliFi HD Mesh is by Ubiquiti and it's consumer, works amazing.