Looking for input on a new project

Question

+Biscuits Brown    833

OK, let me start by saying I've been a developer for nearly 2 decades. Professionally I've primarily been involved with line of business tools and services split between VB.NET and C#. Before anyone besmirches VB.NET, that's irrelevant for this discussion. I used the language and tools dictated by my various employers over the years usually having no input on the matter.

My side projects however have been a bit different. I published my first astronomy based app in the Windows store in the Windows 8.1 time frame. This app was C# and XAML (what else...) Since then I've published an Android app (still astronomy based but unrelated to the Windows app). The app was a tool for last year's eclipse and was originally written in Xamarin. I eventually recoded it in Android Studio just for the fun of it long after its Play Store release. That code sits quietly in a repo someplace. Most recently I was working on a larger Windows Centennial targeted app that I scuttled after God knows how long having become the victim of endless scope creep. You'd have thought I'd have figured out how to NOT do that after all these years... For the record, both original store apps are unpublished at this time.

This brings me to where I am now. I'm looking to recreate and slightly enhance the original Windows Store app but I'd like it to be available on my Windows based desktops, laptops and tablets as well as my Android based tables and phones so I have some cross platform requirements. While these apps are primarily geared toward personal use, I'd publish the app to both the Windows Store and the Google Play Store because why not.

There are many here who's input I greatly value as you represent a cross section of developers that have used a great many more tools and frameworks than I have so I'm looking for a bit of guidance, warnings or suggestions.

Here are some app specifics to consider