Mac w/ Windows App Virtualisation

Hi,

I have been a windows user since the day i started using computers, and am a developer / analyst by trade so use them essentially every day.. I recently bought a used mac to 'test out' and see if i like it for my day to day work... mostly it's going well, and i think i'm going to getting a new MBP in April time as a consequence..

So, on to the question.. some times i need to run things like Visual Studio and although there is Visual Studio for Mac, and Visual Studio Code both of which i use extensively.. but sometimes, sometimes i find myself cracking open the old Windows machine just to get something that is a little bit more complex done...

I can't see this use case disappearing any time soon... but it makes up about 10% of the time i spend on the computer, and i am enjoying the macOS quite a lot... what are the recommendations please for seemless virtualisation of these apps?

You've obviously got parallels, or vmware... both of which i believe offer some sort of "continuity" so they kind of look like you are using a native app... but how much work does it take to manage the underlying OS?

Which one is faster, is VirtualBox a viable option? I would imagine that is a great deal slower (although only due to it being free :p)

I also understand with parallels i can run a boot camp imagine of sorts, on the actual machine hardware.. is this the most optimal?

All thoughts and views welcome... apart from 'get a windows pc' ! :D