Question for Budman regarding a Ubiqity network setup

Hey Budman

I have just setup a Ubiquity network in my home.

Cloud Key (2nd Gen)

USG

US-8 150W Switch

2 AP AC Pro Access points.

Inbound connection is Verizon Fios internet via their Gateway Router (Wi-Fi turned off)

Everything is up and running well, but I wanted to ask if there is anything you do to the standard config to make it more secure? ie: firewall rules

Also I see you reference VLANs often is that something a home user should setup?

Just so you know I am not a network engineer or IT guy just a home user trying to keep things safe and have a network that supports todays internet usage requirements. 

Thanks for your insights.

Well I would suggest you segment your network with vlans if you have a need to isolate devices.  If all you have is your own controlled device, PC, laptops, phones/tablets not so much... But if you have all kinds of IoT devices you might want to segment them from your trusted devices.

What sort of devices make up your network?  Do you provide inbound (port forwarding) from the internet to any of your devices internally? Plex Server? Web Server? etc..

I isolate things like my nest thermo and protect, alexa devices, roku devices, harmony remote, directv etc from my trusted networks.. Where my PC and devices sit, etc.  And since I serve stuff to the internet (ntp server in the pool) and my plex server to friends and family, etc.  These are all isolated from my main pc and trusted devices network.

For rules, yes I do not allow devices on these isolated segments to create any connections into my trusted network(s).. And I limit access to my plex server to friends and family IPs on the port forward rules.  So only IPs that I have listed can access my plex server.  So for example if my friends IP changes - they would have to contact me with their new IP to regain access.