Looking to set up a second monitor on my computer. What do I need?

I current have the following Dell computer and have one monitor hooked up via the HDMI port:

https://www.cnet.com/products/dell-inspiron-3847-core-i5-4460-3-2-ghz-8-gb-1-tb-led-18-5/

I'm looking to hook up a second monitor because the work at my job requires me to have it due to the multiple programs we use. While I have two monitors at my desk at work, sometimes I work from home and it's very difficult doing so with just one monitor.

This is my first time doing this, so I need some help. So I have a few questions..

1) My computer (linked above) has two ports- one HDMI and one VGA. I'm currently using the HDMI port for my one monitor. If I buy a second monitor and hook up via the VGA port, will it work? Not sure if this computer's graphics card is capable of doing that, so I'm not sure if anyone here can tell.

If the answer to #1 is no, then my next question would be...

2) What kind of adapter would I need? Please provide a link to some adapters as examples.

The reason why I need a little help is because when I tried researching, a lot of adapters seem to just do screen duplication, where it just shows the same image on both screens. What I want is a second monitor as an extended display. And I don't want to break the bank getting a real expensive adapter, so hopefully there is an inexpensive one out there. So, if there is a cost effective way of doing this, I'd appreciate if anyone here can help me with that.

VGA should work since they are both onboard.  Sometimes when an addon card is installed, it disables the onboard video but that does not seem to be the case here.  So VGA should be fine.  As far as the adapters showing duplicate and not extended screen...this is an OS option.