Q: Google Music alternative?

Question

Hi all,

Now that Google Music is going down the Tube (pun intended), I'm looking for an app that can do offline music as the Music app did.
I do a lot of walking & biking nowadays (gym's not a safe place to go imho..), and like to play my music from my phone.

I don't care about the new Google YT music app, or any of the streaming stuff, just a nice player to run music locally.
Looking at the Play Store, there's a TON of apps, so it's hard to see the trees through the forest.....

What are people using now as a replacement for Google Music?

cheers!

rob

14 answers to this question

I'm going to assume you're on android.

https://www.androidauthority.com/best-music-player-apps-for-android-208990/

If you're looking for a service that offers music, I'd say that I have a Spotify subscription and I haven't looked back. It also allows you to download the tracks so that you can listen to them when you are offline.

If you're looking for a music player, something that will play your local tracks, I've been using Black Player for years and I find it great.

I have the same problem. The thing is that most players are either paid, or free with ads. I'm not interested in those.

Musicolet, Pulsar and Omnia seem to be decent free and ad-free players. I haven't used them that long yet, though, since Play Music isn't dead yet.

Edited by eddman

5 minutes ago, Nick H. said:

If you're looking for a music player, something that will play your local tracks, I've been using Black Player for years and I find it great.

Nick, I'm getting multiple results on 'black player'. Which developer should I look at?

thanks!

rob

I was in the same boat.  I enjoyed Google Music and had no interest in switching to the YouTube version, so I decided to go with Spotify.  It has a similar music library and you can download all the offline music you want.  The podcast library is really extensive, which was a plus.