Work Monitors for Home Office

I am a software engineer so I spend most of my time on my computer for work. With working remote, I've starting putting together a home office. I use a MBP 16", and would like a dual monitor setup for working. These do not need to be gaming displays.

Mostly what I would like is something that is 1440p or higher, but I'm not sure what screen sizes are optimal for each resolution. I see a lot of decently priced 27" 1440p monitors, but I'm not used to having monitors larger than 24" so I feel the extra space might be wasted on me. Also with the larger screen, I'm not sure the bump from 1080p to 1440p will really feel tangible.

So suffice to say, I want a monitor which will work with my MBP (and it won't burn itself into a crisp trying to power each monitor), but also has a high enough pixel density that it more closely resembles Apple's Retina displays. I also don't want to break the bank, and obviously that means there's some compromises being made.

I've taken a look at the Dell U2520DR but I wonder if that's a bit pricey.

Honestly, this is one of the best work monitors I’ve ever had, not to mention you don’t have the discontinuity of dual monitors. 

Pricey but you get what you pay for and it’s not like it won’t be seeing heavy use. 

https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop/dell-ultrasharp-38-curved-monitor-u3818dw/apd/210-amrc/monitors-monitor-accessories

Edited by adrynalyne

11 minutes ago, adrynalyne said:

Honestly, this is one of the best work monitors I’ve ever had, not to mention you don’t have the discontinuity of dual monitors. 

Pricey but you get what you pay for and it’s not like it don’t be seeing heavy use. 

https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop/dell-ultrasharp-38-curved-monitor-u3818dw/apd/210-amrc/monitors-monitor-accessories