Tips for a PC gamer trying to aim with a control pad?

Treated myself to an xbox elite controller, I have no problem with playing a bunch of games with this, but when it comes to aiming in first person, how the frig are you supposed to hit anything accurately?

even if it's not a moving target, and even with tweaking the sensativity, it's like, left a bit, right a bit, left a bit, right a bit, can never actually stop on the target though and it's hopeless if the target is moving.

Decided to replay New Vegas with this on the TV via my PC and was like... gonna have to be a melee build..

And just to be clear, I'm absolutely fine with certain types of game, was playing Fallen Order last night no probs whatsoever (It's not like I haven't used a controller before, I've been using them on and off for about 5 years now after being a PC gamer since about 1996 just for context) 

How anyone actually manages to play online team and pvp games is beyond me, there must be a trick to it that I'm not getting. Do console FPS gamers, tend to shoot while still rotating or something? Kinda hit the target as you pass it?

Play Halo, that got me used to playing FPS games with a controller back in the early 2000's. Some games really are better suited to controller than others though.

I played a lot of Xbox 360 back in the day, to the point where I found it easier to play some FPS games on the PC with the Xbox 360 controller. I could hold my own on Black Ops 2 playing against people using a mouse and keyboard.

Some games a controller just doesn't work however, I can't say if Fallout is one of those games as I've never played it. The new remaster of Quake on PC is so much easier with a mouse and keyboard compared to the Xbox controller in my opinion.