Switching to Linux... still deciding on Manjaro KDE vs Kubuntu

After decades of working purely on Windows, I'm taking the plunge and will be installing Linux on my new notebook. I work as a dev and while it won't be my primary device, it'll be my secondary machine for working on code from the couch or while travelling.

I have played with various flavours of Linux over the years in VMs, but never actually went to use it for production work, so it'll be interesting (and probably frustrating at the start). Still trying to decide between Manjaro and Kubuntu. Unless I am missing something huge, I cannot stand how GNOME looks & works - KDE just feels so much better and more flexible.

It starts tomorrow!

Both are solid choices, mostly boils down to do you want to install once and forget it (rolling releases) versus regular point upgrades? (Or staying with an LTS release.)  Manjaro for the most part is pretty good, it's not 100% as I've ran into a few bugs/quirks from time to time, nothing major though. Kubuntu tends to be more stable, but again you're dealing with a system that's more fixed in the software.. there is a PPA for Kubuntu for some backported Plasma but it's still the same static base underneath. Manjaro isn't as bleeding edge as Arch, they hold the updates a bit to make sure there's no major issues and then release it after testing so it's less likely to blow up if something goes wrong. 

As far as Plasma itself goes, yea nothing else comes close. I respect Gnome but, I don't know I guess it feels kind of Mac-ish, and not a fan of that at all. Absurdly flexible, surprisingly lightweight for what you get, and you can make it look *really* good. For development they've got all the tools you'd expect, you can find things like VSCode and such in the AUR. My biggest gripe is probably the issues with multi-monitor support under Plasma, it's still pretty bad, can be pretty flaky at times. Otherwise excellent with some nice supporting programs to go with it.