pfSense: Dual WAN Load Balancing / Fail Over DNS (and possibly more) Issues

Hello! So I have been using pfSense for a few years now and have been very happy with it. I recently signed up for a second internet connection at home to have as a backup. After configuring everything, pfSense does indeed switch over to the second connection when the first one fails (simulated by disconnecting the cable), but DNS resolution (or possibly some other issue) doesn't seem to work, and as a result I am not able to browse the internet. I have provided some more information about my setup below. Provided some screenshots as well.

WAN1 is a PPPoE connection with a public routable static IPv4 address.

WAN2 is a CGNAT address and a completely locked down modem, so no Bridge Mode. pfSense just gets a private IP on the WAN2 interface.

pfSense running in a VM on Proxmox with 2 Ethernet cards available for it. One used for WAN1, other for LAN.

Managed Switch has a VLAN on one of the ports for the WAN2. VLAN configured in pfSense.

DNS handled by 2 Pi-hole instances, 1 is a VM on the same Proxmox host, 2nd is on a Raspberry Pi. Both Pi-holes are on their own VLAN in pfSense and DNS Redirect has been configured for the primary LAN network.

Both Pi-hole addresses specified under System/General Setup/DNS Settings. AdGuard DNS IP's provided for WAN2.

What am I doing wrong?

dns.png

gateways.png

lan rules.png

Edited by The Dark Knight

On 17/10/2022 at 07:31, The Dark Knight said:

Both Pi-hole addresses specified under System/General Setup/DNS Settings. AdGuard DNS IP's provided for WAN2.