Help with Visual Studio 2005 > 2022

Question

My son asked if I could teach him some programming. I studied programming in university and it was mostly C#. I briefly did that after I graduated but then went into BI career and can't remember much about C# or VS.

I have all my material from school and thought my son can start with the Hello World console application like I did. I then downloaded VS2022 and created a new project but I guess a lot has changed.

Could someone explain this to me.

Back in the day when I created new console application I got this.

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Text;

namespace Hello
{
    class Program
    {
        static void Main(string[] args)
        {

}
    }
}

Now with VS2022

I get this on new project.

Console.WriteLine("Hello world!");

Why no using, namespace, class etc?

9 answers to this question

Another good resource is W3Schools C# Tutorial, may be slightly out of date but should get him started.  

At the very core C# has evolved but a lot of the core language features are still the same as 1.0.  I personally dislike the Top-Level Statements feature but that's also coming from my background with C/C++.

Now what's jarring is the change from VB6 to VB.Net...

On 30/01/2023 at 21:08, Joni_78 said:

My son asked if I could teach him some programming. I studied programming in university and it was mostly C#. I briefly did that after I graduated but then went into BI career and can't remember much about C# or VS.

I had all my material from school and thought my son can start with the Hello World console application like I did. I then downloaded VS2022 and created a new project but I guess a lot has changed.

Could someone explain this to me.

Back in the day when I created new console application I got this.

Exactly, C# has changed (evolved?) a lot. You can read about this feature here. It is called Implicit Using