Proxmox networking for a beginner, with virtualised router

I'm trying to consolidate a lot of mini-PCs I have around the house running fairly simple tasks (Homeassistant, Arr stack, Jellyfin etc) as well as setting up a new pfsense instance as my home router - in VM form. My NAS will remain a separate machine. I have dual WAN connections (1000/1000 and 1000/100), but I don't do anything particularly heavy on the router side. I'd like to setup some decent ad-blocking capabilities, but I don't think that's particularly taxing.

I've opted for one of the Intel N305 mini-PCs with multiple (6) LAN ports running Proxmox and I'll have a pfSense VM with 1 or 2 cores and 2GB RAM, and everything else I'll try to use containers and have them speak to each other directly. I have some experience with Proxmox and pfsense, but the networking side of both together has made me scratch my head.

I'm trying to get my head around the network side of the actual proxmox machine.  I've been "advised" (i.e. told best practice) to use a PVE Management port, a PVE LAN port, then my two WAN ports and a normal LAN port are passthrough to pfsense. I understand the PVE Mgmt port is to access Proxmox if the router is down for whatever reason, but I'm struggling to see the difference between the PVE LAN port and the normal firewall LAN port. Would the PVE LAN port be bridged into pfsense and both the bridge and the passthrough port are assigned as LAN??

I'm also on the lookout for best practices... networking really isn't my thing. Should I give Proxmox an IP in my normal home networking range, or do I keep it well away from that? If I keep it separate, would I be able to access Proxmox from the LAN or would I have to plugin?

Sorry for what probably seems like some very simple questions I really should already know! I'm just a bit excited by how powerful these new little Alder Lake-N chips actually are!

On 14/10/2023 at 13:36, Biohead said: