Buying A Mac.

I've never used a Mac before.. so i fancy one. Also Never used a laptop/Notebook.

I can do about ?40 month so thats about ?1,200 ish.

Im looking at the iBook 14inch 1.2GHz. With 512MB RAM.

Or maybe a PowerBook 15 inch with 512MB RAM.

What do you recommend?

Also, could it connect to my ADSL Service with no wires? If so how?

http://store.apple.com/Apple/WebObjects/Uk...amily=PowerBook

For around the ?1200 mark - a PowerBook!

http://store.apple.com/Apple/WebObjects/Uk...87&family=iBook

Or an iBook if you wanna save some cash.

This is the NUS student site - but they don't ask for ID (they didn't to me and my friend). Up to 14% discount on here I think.

Personally - Go for the Powerbook, but not just yet. Wait til after the WWDC later this month, there are rumored updates which people are not too sure about. If not, then go for the 15" Combo at ?1200.

Well my mums paying for it and she is getting it me it within 4-5 weeks.. so hmmmm

15inch PowerBook with Combo Drive, whats the Combo Drive?

? 512MB DDR333 SDRAM - 2 SO-DIMMs

? ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 64MB

? 80GB Ultra ATA drive (5400rpm)

? DVD/CD-RW

? AirPort Extreme Card

? Keyboard & Mac OS

? 1.33GHz PowerPC G4

? 15.2-inch TFT display

? 56K internal modem

? Power Adapter

? Battery

Price: ?1,165.00

VAT: ?203.88

Subtotal: ?1,368.88

from what I read in Mac section, it appears that Apple memory though good is overpriced, they recommend getting the smallest amount possible from apple, and then buying some from Crucial etc.

perhaps you should ask in mac section for specifics?

Get The powerbook if you have not already decided to. Simply put, you will just get much more bang for the buck... But also as suggested wait a few more weeks and see what is coming down the pipes if anything...

Also in regards to Apple Ram... It is indeed much more expensive than other 3rd party companies ram, but over the years I have had very mixed results not using Apple "Certified"...