Wana get a mac...

Hey,

For the few months I have seriously considered purchasing a mac. I've seen a few friends of mine using them and I relaly like the feel of them and personally, I'm sick of windows scrweing up and formatting every 3 months for whatever reason that may be. There also seem to be a range of neat apps (such as BBedit) that are only available on a mac.

I need a laptop for school, so it needs to be an ibook or a powerbook. So the question is, what is the best for me? I'm new to mac but I'm computer litterate so I dont think getting used it should be a problem.

I'll be using it for word, email, web browsing, music (airTunes :D), wireless if possible, photoshop, video editing and games (if possible).

I was looking at the 15" Powerbook Combo drive since I think the 12" is cramped and I dont need a dvd burner or anything like that at the moment.

What do you pple suggest?

Cheers.

PS. looking for to it. :happy:

The 15'' Powerbook is great. If you want something cheaper get the 12/14'' iBook.

OS X is excellent, I dont know how I ever got anything done using anything else. Things on the hardware side are also really nice.

BBedit is just some junky old carbon app, SubEthaEdit is a unique editor that really shows what OS X can do.

http://www.codingmonkeys.de/subethaedit/

One thing I really love about my iBook is the amount of free software available. I have over 50 programs on my system, and only 3 of them are not opensource/freeware/limitless sharware. The only pay apps are Office X STE (which I plan on replacing soon), PS CS, and Transmit. iLife '04 was not free for me, but for everybody getting a new mac it is.

I agree with PureEdit, get the 15" PowerBook or the 14" iBook. They are both excellent machines.