ADSL connection sharing

Hi, I have a couple (maybe slightly more) questions about sharing my ADSL internet connection between two computers. I have limited experience when it comes to networking, so please bear with me if I make any mistakes...

I have two PC's in the house currently, with one of them being connected to the internet via a USB boardband modem (Alcatel Speed Touch USB, to be precise), which was supplied to us by Freeserve (now Wanadoo) when we signed up.

Now the problem is, I also have my University computer, which I also want to be able to access the net on. As I understand it, this will not be possible using my current modem as it has no ethernet connection (unless I use Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing or whatever it's called, which I understand I can't, as the main net machine runs win98SE, and my pc is on XP Home. Regardless, I would like the extra security of useing a stand-alone hardware router). So, I need to get a new modem and/or a router, I believe.

Now I understand form some searching on the net that some/many routers come with ADSL modems built in, so if I bought one of these routers, there would be no need to purchase an additional broadband modem, which is good. I am also interested in the possibility of a wireless network, as my Uni PC would be a fair distance from the old pc, making cabling a nightmare.

So, I went on the net again and had a look at wireless routers. It seems I can get a router with 4 physical ethernet ports, wireless access point, built in ADSL modem and firewall for around ?60-?100. Then I assume I just need to connect the ethernet port on the old pc to one of the router's ethernet ports, install a PCI wireless networking card (about ?20, I have found?) in my Uni PC, and connect the router to my phone line...