Purchase a Mac or a PC?

Hey, I am going off to college pretty soon and I am looking to buy a computer (laptop), but I'm not sure what to get. Personally I have been working with PCs my whole life and I am bored :|. A mac looks like the best option... but I don't want to invest blindly, so I would like to get a couple of opinions from owners of both systems.

If you want to be able to use 99% of the programs that your school will use and play games you will want PC. Bottom line. If you plan on using your PC for ONLY Photoshop and graphic design then MAC is the way to go.

BOTTOM LINE!!!

:)

If you have the money, buy a Mac. Virtually everything you will want to do, you can do on a Mac.

I am a college student with huge student loans, so I have a PC. I plan on buying a Mac next year, once I'm out of college.

One more thing...if you plan on going into more science oriented things, a PC will be more common. If you plan on going into more art oriented things, a Mac will be more common.

being a college student myself, a Mac was out of the option.... (even though i vowed never to own a PC, i have one - for only one reason: $$$$) if you have the money, MACs are the way to go...

Well, money isnt a problem (hopefully). Its the fact that I could really go either way when it comes to a major. On this end I want to be an engineer (like everyone else), but on the other end I want to study computer graphics (again... popular today). The college I am going to seems to have the perfect solution, it sort of combines both of these majors into a degree called Electronic Media, Arts, and Communication. So... thats why I am stuck.

If you can afford it, buy a Mac and just buy VirtualPC to run your PC apps. If you are not a gamer, then Macs are the way to go (especially if you have VirtualPC). Then you can have both worlds on one machine.

If you can't afford it, buy a PC. Unfortuately, many things for the Mac are expensive so it's not the best option to save money.