VB.NET and datagrid control

Question

Hi guys,

i hope you re all doing well.

I want to use the datagrid to enter data into a database. I want to make an empty row so that the user can enter data into the columns and on a button click that data is added into the corresponding columns of the table.

So basically i want to add empty rows in a data grid control on the form load event.

im not an expert coder so a code sample would help a lot

thanks...

1 answer to this question

I just did this about 30 minutes ago :D

Here's what you do: on the ASPX page:

<asp:DataGrid id="DataGrid1" AutoGenerateColumns="False" ShowFooter="True" Runat="Server">
   <columns>
      <asp:TemplateColumn>
         <ItemTemplate>
            <asp:Label EnableViewState="False" Text='<%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "Column1") %>' Runat="Server" />
         </ItemTemplate.
         <EditItemTemplate>
            <asp:TextBox Text='<%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "Column1") %>' Runat="server" />
         </EditItemTemplate>
         <FooterTemplate>
            <asp:TextBox runat="Server" />
         </FooterTemplate>
   </asp:TemplateColumn>
   <asp:TemplateColumn>
      <ItemTemplate>
         <asp:Label EnableViewState="False" Text='<%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "Column2") %>' Runat="Server" />
      </ItemTemplate>
      <EditItemTemplate>
         <asp:TextBox Text='<%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "Column2") %>' Runat="server" />
      </EditItemTemplate>
      <FooterTemplate>
         <asp:TextBox runat="Server" />
      </FooterTemplate>
   </asp:TemplateColumn>
   <asp:templatecolumn>
      <itemtemplate>
         <asp:linkbutton commandname="Edit" enableviewstate="False" text="Edit" runat="server" />
         <asp:linkbutton commandname="Delete" enableviewstate="False" text="Delete" runat="server" />
      </itemtemplate>
      <footertemplate>
         <asp:linkbutton commandname="Insert" enableviewstate="False" text="Insert" runat="server" />