[C++] Help

Question

Right i started learning C++ about 3 days ago with the boot C++ All - In - One Desk Refernce for Dummies.

On the CD with it, it came with a compiler which was Bloodshed Dev-C++. I dont know if it is me or the compiler but i have error with my code that i used from the book:

#include <iostream>

#include <stdlib.h>

int main(int argc, char *argv[])

{

int mynumber;

mynumber = 10;

cout << mynumber << end1;

system("PAUSE");

return 0;

}

It is very basic but Dev-C++ is telling me that "Line 7 `end1' undeclared (first use this function)"

So yeh anyhelp, do i have end1 typed in wrong or is it the compiler????

Thanks

dave164

10 answers to this question

yeh , endl means endline, would be strange endl1, that 1 doesnt stand for anything, anyway goodluck with your c++ study, feel free to ask anymore question here around :)

thanks yeh i most likely will, its quite interesting really :p

I primely started to learn C++ to make media players, IE's and cool windows programs, maybe a few other tools to :shifty:

#include <iostream>

#include <stdlib.h>

int main(int argc, char *argv[])

{

int mynumber;

mynumber = 10;

cout << mynumber << end1;

system("PAUSE");

return 0;

}

Aside from the end1 mistake, this example should NOT work (and won't) on most C++ compilers as the namespace std is never included in the global scope.

Also, don't use tricks such as system("PAUSE"); it's not portable, and avoid using C library such as "stdlib.h", if you must use it use "cstdlib" instead (which is the C++ header for stdlib.h).

Last thing, "return 0;" is implicit and not mandatory for the main in C++.

#include &lt;iostream&gt;
using namespace std;

int main()
{
    const int mynumber = 10;
    cout &lt;&lt; mynumber &lt;&lt; endl;
    cout &lt;&lt; "Press enter to continue." &lt;&lt; endl;
    cin.get();
}

If you're serious about C++ programming, I suggest you ditch Dev-C++ and use a real and uptodate C++ compiler such as Visual C++ 7.1 or GCC 3.4.