[MLB] Nomar Traded!

BOSTON -- The Boston Red Sox sent shortstop Nomar Garciaparra to the Chicago Cubs in a blockbuster, four-team deal Saturday that also involved shortstops Orlando Cabrera and Alex Gonzalez.

The Red Sox wound up with Cabrera and Minnesota first baseman Doug Mientkiewicz while the Cubs got Garciaparra and minor league outfielder Matt Murton.

Montreal acquired Gonzalez, pitcher Francis Beltran and infielder Brendan Harris and the Twins got minor league pitcher Justin Jones.

The trade was officially announced shortly after the 4 p.m. EDT deadline for making deals without waivers.

Garciaparra is a five-time All-Star and a two-time AL batting champion, and is in the final year of his contract. The trade brought an end to his stellar career in Boston, one which was overshadowed for the past year by trade rumors and an injury.

"I think he will bring a ton to the table and a presence on the field and off,'' Cubs general manager Jim Hendry said. "You never go to work thinking he's going to be available.''

Last winter, after Garciaparra rejected a four-year, $60 million extension, the Red Sox tried furiously to acquire Alex Rodriguez from Texas to play shortstop. Although it would have been Manny Ramirez going to the Rangers, the Red Sox would have then shipped out Garciaparra, possibly to either the Chicago White Sox or Los Angeles.

Instead, Rodriguez went to the New York Yankees -- to play third base -- and Garciaparra stayed and stewed. Confessing that his feelings were hurt, he said he still wanted to finish his career with the Red Sox.

But the good feelings didn't last through spring training. After eight hitless at-bats, he injured his Achilles tendon and missed 57 games with an injury that was supposed to keep him out a week.

Published but unattributed speculation from within the front office that he was taking his time coming back upset Garciaparra anew before all seemed forgotten when he returned to a series of standing ovations on June 9.