Is there a command to reboot in safe mode?

I am a computer tech. I work on about 5 computers at a time, in addition to helping customers. If I need to get a computer into safe mode, I have to stand there the minute or so until I can hit F8 and I CONSTANTLY miss it.

I would love a command such as "rundll.exe -restart /safe" or something like that that would automatically restart in safe mode.

If anyone knows of such a command, I would be eternally grateful.

Thanks,

Matt

Use msconfig to check the boot.ini options, and if you need to drop it into Win2k. You could add lines to the boot.ini to accomplish what you need.

edit: or look at the above link!!! :p

I am really looking for a command I can run from the "Run" dialog that will allow me to restart in safe mode. I will be working on customer's units, and I don't want to edit the boot.ini file, since I'd still have to select an OS to load to and that would not be economical for me. Just a quick one time command for "Restart in safe mode."

What I'm looking for reminds me of "Restart in MS-DOS mode" of Win98. You could get there by pressing F8, or by selecting that.

Nope no command to resart in safe mode. The only shutdown options are:

C:\Documents and Settings\Go Away>shutdown

Usage: shutdown [-i | -l | -s | -r | -a] [-f] [-m \\computername] [-t xx] [-c "c

omment"] [-d up:xx:yy]

No args Display this message (same as -?)

-i Display GUI interface, must be the first option

-l Log off (cannot be used with -m option)

-s Shutdown the computer

-r Shutdown and restart the computer

-a Abort a system shutdown

-m \\computername Remote computer to shutdown/restart/abort

-t xx Set timeout for shutdown to xx seconds

-c "comment" Shutdown comment (maximum of 127 characters)

-f Forces running applications to close without war

ning

-d [p]:xx:yy The reason code for the shutdown

u is the user code

p is a planned shutdown code

xx is the major reason code (positive integer le

ss than 256)