Search code

Question

Hi,

I was wondering if someone could help me with a small problem I have at the moment.

I was asked by a friend to create a toolbar for him with the option to search these forums from it.

However I'm not very good with vBulletin boards :D and require a way of doing a search of all the forums from the IE address bar (as in the way Googles bar does it).

If anyone knows how to do this I would be very gratful

Cheers

6 answers to this question

I don't think that anyone here have asked a question about Toolbars before...

I don't know which programming language you're using.

Use this APIs to create a toolbar:

InitCommonControls

CreateToolbarEx (don't forget the TBBUTTON structure)

I guess that you have an API Reference...

Hi,

The thing is I have already created the toolbar (it sits next to the address bar in IE :D) for Internet Explorer all I need to do now is find a way of passing the search string to vB and then telling it to do a search of all the public forums available.

Cheers.

Origionally posted by Myself in wrong darn thread :o

upon examining the message board search form, I see the form is being submitted using the POST method. The search query value is sent in a field named "query".

You should be able to submit the query value using the POST method in your toolbar application.

If the search page accepted the GET method instead, this would be as appending a search value to https://www.neowin.net/bboard/search.php?query=

BTW... if you do add this search feature. Could you add a drop down to allow us to select between directing the search between the Board and searching "all of NeoWin" (https://www.neowin.net/search.php). BTW... the field on that form is named "searchfor".

I have some Delphi resource sites bookmarked at home, along with Delphi 6. I will try to figure something out when I get home from work.