FX5600 or 9600 XT ?

Performance wise, which is better?  

33 members have voted

1. 1. Performance wise, which is better?

• 256MB nVidia FX5600
    • 256MB ATi RADEON 9600 XT

im by no means an expert anymore with gfx cards. its got too much for me in the last few years trying to follow them :D

if its a normal run of the mill 5600, i'd think the XT would be superior.

not sure if 5600 ultra's are any better.

a friend iof mien owns a 5600ultra and in halflife 2 it runs in Dx8 mode the Fx cards no matter witch one will only run DX8. Fx is not a true Dx9 card therfor in games sutch as HL2 it will only be detected as a Dx8 card. oh by the way the 9800 pro is now 178$ or so

a friend iof mien owns a 5600ultra and in halflife 2 it runs in Dx8 mode the Fx cards no matter witch one will only run DX8. Fx  is  not a true  Dx9 card  therfor in games sutch as HL2 it will only be detected  as a Dx8 card.  oh by the way the  9800 pro is now 178$ or so

585075973[/snapback]

So the FX5900, 5950, 5700 Ultra and 5800 don't run in DX 9? Really...

Anyways, the Radeon 9600 XT hands down!

a friend iof mien owns a 5600ultra and in halflife 2 it runs in Dx8 mode the Fx cards no matter witch one will only run DX8. Fx  is  not a true  Dx9 card  therfor in games sutch as HL2 it will only be detected  as a Dx8 card.  oh by the way the  9800 pro is now 178$ or so

585075973[/snapback]

Just because HL2 doesn't default to DX9 with that card doesn't mean it doesn't support it at all. DX9 blows on the FX cards so they just set it to dx8 by default. All you have to do is use to -dxlevel 90 command to change that.

Just because HL2 doesn't default to DX9 with that card doesn't mean it doesn't support it at all. DX9 blows on the FX cards so they just set it to dx8 by default. All you have to do is use to -dxlevel 90 command to change that.

585076053[/snapback]